My Mom's Sausage & Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
I just happen to have gotten a really good sale on Hatfield country sausage[buy 1/get 2 free]...so i was looking for something to do with it since we're not big breakfast people. OMG, was this good!....I crumbled and browned the tube of sausage for this recipe....added mushrooms....used canned chicken broth instead of pkg mix[i was afraid of the salt]...and topped it toward the end with French's cheese-flavored onion rings. MMMmmmMMMmmMMm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I have made a very similar recipe for years and handed out the recipe countless times ..my variation doesn't take as much time and will be less salty/less fat as it doubles the recipe and still uses only 1 pound of sausage..I use it as a side dish instead of a main dish.My variation follows: Cook 1 pound of sausage(I like JImmy Dean Sage) in large skillet with chopped onion,bell pepper and celery until sausage is brown..drain off fat. Meanwhile, bring 4 1/2 cups of water to a boil, add 1 cup regular (not minute) rice and 2 packages Liptons Chicken Noodle with white meat soup mix...simmer for 20 minutes. Mix all together, add a jar of chopped mushrooms if desired..its ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
OK, is this the Twilight Zone? I printed this recipe on Jan. 17. I made it last night, & logged on to review it today. I noticed several of the ingredient amounts have changed!!!??? I just wanted to let everyone know how delicious this is. It very much surpassed my expectations! The original recipe called for ground sausage, 1 onion, 1 c. celery, 2 1/2 c. hot water, 1 envelope dry chicken noodle mix, & 2 T. sliced almonds. Here's what I did & it turned out YUMMY!!! I used a 12oz package of Jimmy Dean 50% less fat sausage.(it was the perfect amount & no need to drain!) I used 1 c. chopped onion, 2 stalks celery, 1 bell pepper, 1/2 c. long grain rice, 2 1/2 c. hot water, a 1.75oz envelope dry chicken soup mix, & 2 T. sliced almonds. I also used a skillet to saute' in & put everything in a 2 qt. casserole.(Dutch oven is too big) Anyway- you really should try it- even though it takes a while to cook, it's easy to put together & REALLY delicious! I don't know why your recipe changed, Corrie, but I loved it & so did my family! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This recipe is yummy! Everyone at my house loved it. Not quite enough for four. Next time I'll double it. Thanks Corrie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
My husband loved it. He's a big sausage fan though. I liked it but not as much as him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Very easy recipe to make and tasted great. I read a lot of the reviews commenting on the "saltiness" and instead of using the two packages in the 4.5oz noodle soup mix box I only used one. You could taste some salt but not that bad (and I don't cook with much salt!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Took this to a family funeral dinner. Everyone loved it. Doubled the recipe. It is not the prettiest dish, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
I thought this recipe was okay. There is a lot of prep for this recipe and it takes a long time to bake. I did agree with a lot of the other reviews and thought it was way too salty, but my boyfriend loved it. I had one serving and he ate the rest! So he gave it five stars and I gave it one star so I combined our stars and gave it three stars in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
A coworker brought this casserole in for an office brunch last Friday. Everyone asked him for the recipe and he told us it was yours and how we could find it. Thanks for sharing this. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This recipe was very flavorful and easy to make. It's not every dish that both my 2 and 4 year old enjoy!! I agree that it is just a tad on the salty side but I still recommend it. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States