My Mom's Sausage & Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This is awesome....I did modify by using Owens hot bulk sausage and Campbells dry chicken noodle soup (better flavor). I used 2 pkg of soup in 4 1/2 cups of boiling water and increased rice to 1 cup. Topped the casserole off with paprika before baking!!! Must double the recipe to keep this family happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is just like a recipe I got from a neighbor in Calif. The only difference is my version is topped with grated cheese. This is just scrumptious. Thank you for this as I had lost my recipe card.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I have fixed your recipe 2 times and my family really likes it. I will fix it again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Really very tasty. I used lamb mince as that was what was defrosted and bulked up quantity by adding one bag of dry slaw, red and green pepper and 1 cup of rice. Cooked alot quicker in the oven than recipe suggested. Didn't look flash but a taste bud pleaser in our house. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
It's so good with sage flavored sausage. I picked it up by mistake, but it really adds a great flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was very good and easy, and I'll definitely make it again. I'm sure this would be great made exactly by the recipe, but I did make a few changes. This seems like a very flexible recipe that allows for substitutions and additions. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Very nice, just a few adjustments. We used maple flavoured breakfast sausage, 1 cup of rice, a whole onion, and 2.5 cups of hot water, no celery or almonds. We also only cooked it all for an hour. Very tasty, my 1 year old loved the rice. Not to mushy or salty, just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peace River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Very good. Used jasmine rice, nice flavor. Subbed chix broth for the soup mix and used red pepper instead. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Sorry, no likey. It was dry and really salty. I think I might have used a little too much soup mix and salty sausages?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYKIDSMOM5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Morgan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Ok, I had to try this recipe because the ingredients sounded so odd and it had great reviews. Awesome! To combat the "bland" taste that others reported, I mixed my soup with the hot water and added 2 chicken bouillon cubes until disolved, then added to meat/rice mixture. I think this really did the trick. Used jasmine rice instead of plain ol Uncle Bens. I didn't have any almonds so I skipped this and it was still yummy. Try it, if you like sausage and rice, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States