My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was GREAT! The only thing that I changed was using butter instead of shortening because I don't have shortening and don't use it anyway. I did not sift the flour and it turned out fine. To save time, I let the dough rise for the first rising in an oven preheated to about 120 degrees and then turned off. It only took about 1/2 hour for the first rising. Everyone (there were 5 of us) said it tasted just like a donut shop! I have never made donuts before and was kind of afraid to but now I will make these often. They were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Menann
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
it's my first time making donuts or baking in general, i made a dozen today and filled them with strawberry jam, my parents looooved them thanks a lot for sharing this amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
they turned out great and fluffy just as promised, but when I touched the cut-donuts before frying them they popped, so I had to recut them. They were very fragile to touch, I assume in order to make them fluffy I'm not sure if this is supposed to happen but overall it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
In the past I had always been annoyed with homemade doughnuts being dense and dry. These I am happy to say are not! They're the best doughnuts I've ever made. I substituted pumpkin in place of the milk and added pumpkin pie spices. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Holbrook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I just made these today for my family and we all love them. These are light and delicious and I will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
These were incredible! My son and boyfriend gobbled them up before they could even cool...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe and my family loved it!! AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
THE best donuts ever!! :) The recipe is so simple and the donuts turned out to be way better than the ones we get at the stores!! Cheers to your Mum's recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luckytuna
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Wonderful..so easy, however I used my bread machine. I added a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckytuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrendaLea55
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Made these and loved them! the teens and husband approved too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States