My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I woke this morning thinking how much my family would enjoy some homemade glazed donuts. This was the recipe I chose to try. I read several of the reviews beforehand. I'd just like to say that, especially for my first attempt, this recipe is incredibly easy to follow. I followed it to the letter and can't rave enough about it. For those that said it wasn't sweet enough in their reviews I am shocked because there was just the right amount of sweetness in the glaze for all of my family members (even those with a raging sweet tooth). I don't normally review things but I just had to on this recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannonDobos
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I used to make donuts with my mom as a kid, and this recipe is even better :) I made it exactly as written, and wouldn't change a thing. They were crispy on the outside and light and melt-in -your-mouth-airy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
This recipe is similar to mine yet I put a whole mashed up potato in mine. It helps with the fluffiness and gives it a great flavor. Got the idea from amish potato bread. It tastes just like Krispy Kreme. I also dip my doughnut in the icing to cover both sides. I also add about 1/4 of a cup of vanilla creamer to replace some of the milk. They are so good that I have even sold them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I'm a decent home cook, nothing special. I moved to high elevation and have struggled with anything with yeast. This is my first time making donuts and this recipe is fabulous! Homemade food will not equal store food. Store and restaurant food has a ton of extra ingredients for shelf life, color, structure etc. Homemade is always better and I think people have been so accustomed to eating bad food that they forgot what good food really tastes like. Donuts are not supposed to be sweet as the icings and fillings make them sweet. Some notes from my first donut making experience- 1. I use pastry flour instead of all-purpose. I find that it is lighter and doesn't need sifting. 2. I didn't have shortening, I used butter and it seems fine. 3. I had to let rise for about 30 minutes longer each rise because I'm in high elevation. 4. Check the temperature of the oil before you start putting them in. I was able to get my oil at 350 then turned it down to low to maintain the temp. 5. I made a 1/2 recipe and smaller donuts and it worked fine. 6. After the second rise, be very gentle lifting the donuts as they will flatten, don't hold them long, immediately put them in the oil. 7. It only took my donuts about 30 seconds on each side to cook. I used a slotted metals spoon to transfer them to the paper towels. 8. I used the glaze, very basic, so I may try some others. All in all, very light, solid taste, family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
wow! looks really delish!I've been searching for a good recipe and I almost forgot to search it in here!! so now I'll definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Easy to follow great taste for an extra something I added almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CurtisZ
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Really great recipe. It still came out well, even though I overworked the dough. The kids absolutely loved them. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by F. Balsamo
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This recipe is simply amazing! Done it today and they are very tasty! Pay a lot of attention to the oil temperature: stay ALWAYS at 175! I suggest also to eat them with ham and cheese and (obviously) without the glaze! Greetings from Italy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Forgive those who criticize this recipe for they know not what they say. This is the best raised doughnut recipe that I have ever come across.... ever! They turned out so light and delicious.... not greasy. This will be a for sure item for our breakfast gathering when the kids and grandkids come in. I want to freeze a few before the final raising to see hoe well they hold up so that I will always have some on hand for immediate use. Thanks again for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Had the site cut recipe to 1/2 as this was my first try. The recipe was easy enough to replicate. Proofed dough in oven so rise time was cut in half. The dough was more like a sweet bread - neither light nor sweet enough. I will tweek the recipe and try again. I was looking for a recipe that has the light yeast flavor in the donuts - more like Krispy Kremes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States