My Mom's Raised Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I don't cook. I did make these for my annual effort and they were awesome. Very light and fluffy. I did make a small change to the recipe and that was to add more flower. The dough wouldn't unstick from the bowl. Other than that it worked perfect. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Peters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Excellent. My family loved them. Can do a lot with this recipe. Put your own spin on it or make them as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I thought this recipe was just OK. It tasted like fried dinner rolls to me, not the melt in your mouth kind of donuts from the bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Just tried this recipe today and absolutely loved it!!! The doughnuts turned out so delish and were so light and airy. The only thing that was a bummer for me was the glaze, after reading the reviews I doubled the recipe and thinned it out by adding more water to it; although next time I wont double the vanilla it seemed to overpower the doughnut. But I also made some whole doughnuts and rolled them in granulated sugar and filled them with raspberry jam and they were amazing!! Definitely a recipe I'm gonna keep in my repertoire! :D And note for those whose dough didn't turn out, usually for me when I under-knead the dough it will turn out just fine, as long as you don't over work the gluten in the flour and don't kill the yeast it will be able to create that light airy texture. And I like letting my dough's rise in the microwave so that way there is no draft and it will keep it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Fabulous recipe. Added a tablespoon of vanilla paste to the dough, but it didn't need it, the flavor is so good: would just add to the glaze next time. Substituted oat milk for the dairy milk and you'd never know the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I followed the directions exactly and they turned out perfectly. I didn't glaze them since we like them coated in powdered sugar. I'm sure I'll try them with glaze, filled with lemon filling or with cinnamon sugar. Thanks for the amazing recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda0989

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
O.M.G. This recipe is amazing. A recent episode of masterchef made donuts look approachable. They came out delicious, light, and DONUTS!! I don't own a nice stand mixer or deep fryer but was successful. Do buy a thermometer to watch the heat if frying in a pan/pot and make sure to properly proof your yeast. If your dough didn't rise, it's the yeast or area where you're letting it rise. I turn my oven on for a sec and let it get barely warmer than room temp. Close the door...voila! perfect spot to let the dough rise. Gotta go, donuts calling =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is really good. Very airy. I made it with my bread machine and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Can't wait to make these for my girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the perfect donut recipe! Crispy on the outside and airy and delicious on the inside. I made a half batch and got 12 donuts with several donut holes. They we devoured when I served them. I had two guests and they ate 11 donuts between the two of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States