My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very rich, very creamy. I omitted the onions as we all like the sweetness of this salad. This is so easy to make, so simple. Real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I hate potato salad but it is one of my husband's favorite summer foods. I was making this recipe as it is gluten free and dairy free (my kids are allergic) and got rave reviews. I ended up trying it and think it is the best potato salad I have ever had, it was so good I had seconds and I HATE potato salad!!! My husband's only suggestion is that maybe sometime I put some olives or pimentos in it for a variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very good and I'm not a big fan of potatoe salad. I did add a little musturd and sprinkled paprika on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Almost like mine, except I use slaw dressing with my mayo, and I add chopped celery, to suit my hubby. I have to make my potato salad at every get together. Yummy good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Generally, I am a colossal failure at potato salad. I just can't seem to get the flavors right. This recipe, however was a winner!! Easy and it tastes great....and I'm not even a big fan of sweet pickles. Not sure if it made a difference or not, but I boiled potatoes and eggs yesterday and refrigerated them until I was ready to make the salad today. I also used mayo, not Hellman's. Now that I have a great base, I feel more confident to try other flavors, like dill pickles, etc. Very happy, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Almost identical to my mother's recipe. The only differences are using Kosher dill pickles and adding a small amount of mustard. Also, and this is very important, don't peel and chop your potatoes until AFTER they have been cooked and cooled. They will be much more firm and not be mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Almost the exact recipe my Grandma taught my Mom over 50 years ago and then she passed it on to me. The only changes are use approx. 1/2 jar sweet pickles and a small amount of the pickle juice (to taste), add a little chopped celery and salt and pepper to taste. This is the only way my family really likes potato salad and this recipe will be passed on to my kids. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Very good...My mother has also made a version of this since I was a child, and I carry it on now...my teen-aged children will not eat any potato salad other than mine. We add a squirt of yellow mustard and either a splash of vinegar or pickle juice, chopped ham, and about a teaspoon of sugar. Oh yes, sometimes I sub green onions for the yellow and sometimes omit entirely...depending on who's joining for dinner...then I just add onion powder. Thanks, I didn't think anyone else made a similar version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
GREEEAAAAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waymart, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States