My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
My foster Mother's potato salad was similar but she added yellow mustard,chopped green onions, dill pickle and paprika. She was arthritic and rarely cooked leaving the job to my older Sister but when she did she could make our holiday meals memorable filling the house with the smells of whatever she was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Dollinter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I grew up with this recipe and everyone loves it .... slight difference, I use Miracle Whip vs. Mayo and a tab of yellow mustard. YUMMT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alonia Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This is very close to my grandmother's potato salad. The only changes I made were to add a little mustard to taste as well as some chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
This is a pretty basic recipe, but I feel that it needs some finely diced red or green bell pepper and some celery I'd cut down just a bit on the sweet pickles. It's nice to see that you're not ruining the terrific flavor with mustard! I also always add just a few drops of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
This was good but I have had better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Added a little touch of mustard and it was really good. Though it makes a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Excellent! My husband said tastes just like my Mother used to make. First time I ever tried to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Instead of chopping sweet pickles, I just add sweet relish. And I mix my mayo with milk, just enough to keep it creamy, add the relish, mustard, sugar, and just a tad of cider vinegar. Eggs and chopped onion are also a must. Same with macaroni salad, except I always add canned tiny shrimp to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I agree with margiekale, potato salad must have some celery and a bit of mustard. Also, my nephew, who is a professional chef, gave me another suggestion: add a bit of dill weed. It does wonders for your potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States