My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Added a little touch of mustard and it was really good. Though it makes a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Excellent! My husband said tastes just like my Mother used to make. First time I ever tried to make it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Instead of chopping sweet pickles, I just add sweet relish. And I mix my mayo with milk, just enough to keep it creamy, add the relish, mustard, sugar, and just a tad of cider vinegar. Eggs and chopped onion are also a must. Same with macaroni salad, except I always add canned tiny shrimp to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I agree with margiekale, potato salad must have some celery and a bit of mustard. Also, my nephew, who is a professional chef, gave me another suggestion: add a bit of dill weed. It does wonders for your potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is my recipe with a few additions. I use sweet mixed pickles, a few sweet onions and a touch of yellow mustard. Sometimes if I have any celery I'll use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I add dill pickle relish, dry mustard, sliced bl. olives, sliced green olives and finey chopped celery to make a deluxe pot luck salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is the same as my grandma's and mother's recipe, I add crumpled cooked bacon for hubby and sprinkle paprika on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I would omit the sweet pickles and halve the number of eggs. Just add a couple squirts of yellow mustard. I also would use a little less onion and add some chopped celery and chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is a great starting recipe. I have made one pretty close to it for many years. I use dill pickles instead of sweet, and miracle whip instead of mayonnaise. I also add a dash of apple cidar vinegar/ dill pickle juice and yellow mustard. I put an extra sliced hard boiled egg on top and sprinkle with paprika and black pepper for a nice presentation. It is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Just like my Mom's potato salad except she put in a small jar of relish instead of pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States