My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I have tried many recipes for potato salad but this one is the best. Very easy to follow. The potatoes are not mushy. I left out the onions for my family but added red bell pepper and celery. We enjoyed this over both Thanksgiving and Christmas Dinner. Very tasty. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was decent potato salad. Not entirely what I'm looking for, but definitely the standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Just like my mom's! I'm glad to see a recipe just like it; there is nothing better than a perfect potato salad from your childhood! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Simple and simply good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
WoW!! What an easy recipe that is so easily adaptable to personal tastes. Since I was only cooking for a couple of people, I just estimated with 4 large potato's and 5 eggs. Approx. 3/4 cup mayo, and a dash of mustard. (I could also see adding a shot of a Louisiana hot sauce, which I love.) I used bread and butter pickles cut up, the flavor of those sweet rounds and added a little juice. I have since made this several times, and what I find works best for me is some pickle juice and white vinegar which gives it the bite I love. Also adding fresh chives..........I want to thank Holly (who reviewed this recipe) when she wrote ' to cook the potato's whole in their skin, and then peel and chop after they were cooled.' That was PERFECT (because I know I can overcook potato's and they will turn mushy. In fact, I will also now make my mashed potato's this way.) This was my first time making potato salad and I will not buy store bought again, this was just too good and easy. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Easy to make recipe. We modified it for Thanksgiving dinner, so instead of 8 serving we made it for ten. The measurements were spot on, and directions easy to follow. We substituted the sweet pickles or dill relish, and saved a bit of time. Also we added about 5 tablespoons of Old Bay to make the recipe really pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Delicious! Cookin' for two so I divided recipe in half-added 1cup sweet pickle relish, 2 celery stalks and 1/2 green pepper-finely chopped and 1 T. yellow mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTCOOKIN4TWO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
it was a great recipe i just added chopped celery, mustard and sugar, my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Pretty good. It's a safe and easy recipe but... nothing special. I did add a little paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States