My Mom's Good Old Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I would omit the sweet pickles and halve the number of eggs. Just add a couple squirts of yellow mustard. I also would use a little less onion and add some chopped celery and chopped parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is a great starting recipe. I have made one pretty close to it for many years. I use dill pickles instead of sweet, and miracle whip instead of mayonnaise. I also add a dash of apple cidar vinegar/ dill pickle juice and yellow mustard. I put an extra sliced hard boiled egg on top and sprinkle with paprika and black pepper for a nice presentation. It is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Just like my Mom's potato salad except she put in a small jar of relish instead of pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willoughby Hills, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I agree it's probably what your used to. Potato salad must have some celery it in. Also I add a tablespoon of mustard to give it some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is EXACTLY the way I make potato salad which I got from my mom over 50 years ago. Isn't that amazing? I also boil enough eggs to slice some and lay all around the top of the salad and then sprinkle paprika over all which makes it look as delicious as it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
So close to what I had on Sunday picnics as a child.Save some chopping and use sweet pickle relish. And Miracle Whip instead of mayo gives it that extra kick...... Thanks for submitting. It brings back fond memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I guess it is all about what you're used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Simple and tasty, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurseboyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
My Grandmother and Mom made this potato salad, except they put a little dry mustard in it. I do the same except since we don't care for pickles, I leave them out. No pickels also removes some of the salt. My Mother's brother mentioned he really missed the family Potato Salad, so I made a batch for a family reunion we were taking him to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinehurst, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Add celery and you got a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghenghis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States