My Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
I like this with a no boil white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very good cake and not difficult to make. Afterwards I topped with Paula's Whipped Cream recipe and added strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out to be delicious. Instead of making a cake, I made cupcakes and iced them with "Chocolate Frosting III." I made them for both my husband and I to bring to work, and they were devoured! Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I don't have buttermilk so decided to just go ahead with fresh milk. It taste great even before baking. What else can i say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Really good, easy chocolate cake! I swapped a stick of unsalted butter for the shortening but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I topped it with a quick ganache made with of a couple of tablespoons each unsalted butter and heavy cream, 3 oz semi sweet chocoate and a tablespoon of rum and served it with fresh whipped cream. It was fabulous and I will definitely make it again - probably in a heart-shaped pan for valentine's day. Next time I'll use hot, strong coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was so good. My three year old wanted cake the other night and I didn't have a cake mix so I searched and searched and decided to try this recipe. Everyone liked it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I am not typically a negative person, but I can find nothing good to say about this cake. The fact that the recipe only calls for a single egg should have been a clue to me that this would be more like a fudgy brownie than a cake. It was moist, but it was too dense. If you like airy, spongy cakes, this is NOT the cake for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Wonderful cake. Easy to make. Light, moist and airy (all important qualities in a cake). New family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent. This was easy to whip up and tastes great. I used 1/2 cup butter rather than shortening and added lemon to regular milk since I had no buttermilk. It turned out just like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I loved this recipe. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. It was chocolatey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States