My Mom's Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Unlike the reviewer who described this as light and airy, I agree with Sumchelle that this is a dense cake, rich and moist, but still tender - and definitely not "fluffy." Deep, dark chocolate, stick to your fork delicious! I did use the shortening as called for, and freshly brewed hot coffee rather than the water. So many frostings would work well with this, but I chose Brownie Frosting, also from this site. This satisfies even the most serious chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent. This was easy to whip up and tastes great. I used 1/2 cup butter rather than shortening and added lemon to regular milk since I had no buttermilk. It turned out just like I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out to be delicious. Instead of making a cake, I made cupcakes and iced them with "Chocolate Frosting III." I made them for both my husband and I to bring to work, and they were devoured! Everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Wendell, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I loved this recipe. I used unsalted butter instead of shortening. It was chocolatey and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I am not typically a negative person, but I can find nothing good to say about this cake. The fact that the recipe only calls for a single egg should have been a clue to me that this would be more like a fudgy brownie than a cake. It was moist, but it was too dense. If you like airy, spongy cakes, this is NOT the cake for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Wonderful cake. Easy to make. Light, moist and airy (all important qualities in a cake). New family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I had to use canola oil instead of crisco but my cake turned out just fine. It rose nicely and was not dense or fudgy at all. As good as any chocolate cake I've made!! Love that it fits in an 8x8 so we don't have a huge pan of dessert sitting around for just my family. I paired it with "light and creamy brown sugar frosting" from this site. It was just the right amount of frosting for this little cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Really good, easy chocolate cake! I swapped a stick of unsalted butter for the shortening but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I topped it with a quick ganache made with of a couple of tablespoons each unsalted butter and heavy cream, 3 oz semi sweet chocoate and a tablespoon of rum and served it with fresh whipped cream. It was fabulous and I will definitely make it again - probably in a heart-shaped pan for valentine's day. Next time I'll use hot, strong coffee instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Very good cake and not difficult to make. Afterwards I topped with Paula's Whipped Cream recipe and added strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
7.14.10 This is the best DARK CHOCOLATE cake. It is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States