My Mom's Apple Sauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Love the cake. I didn't make it with rasins or walnuts cause I didn't have any and instead of 1/2 cup shortening I used 1/2 cup vegetable oil. Didn't frost it at all. The cake turned out moist the way I like it and my husband said it was very good also. We have a few apple trees and I make homemade applesauce often and used that. I might add homemade apple butter with the applesauce sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This recipe was a hit with my family. I served it to dinner guests and had to give out the recipe because they loved it so much. I changed a few things because I didn't have everything listed. I upped the cinn. to 1 tsp. and omitted the cloves, allspice, walnuts and raisins. I also added 2 eggs instead of one and used cinn. applesause because that's all I had on hand. I added about 4 fresh cubed macintosh apples and I didn't have the ingredients for the frosting so I coated the top with confectionary sugar. It was a big hit!!! I am making another one today and I am planning on using the frosting this time. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
My boyfriends family love Applesauce Cake and, when I made this recipe they fell in love with it. Said it was one of the best that they ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
added 1 chopped granny smith apple,instead of all raisins i used 1/2 craisins,1/2 raisins. this cake is a *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Luv the recipe:-) The cake is moist and yummy delicious! Even my husband, who usually doesn't like fruit type cakes, liked it. I opted to omit raisins & walnuts. I used two eggs instead of one, used onl 1/4 tsp of cloves & more cinnamon. Also added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar. I topped the cake with a glaze made of confectionary sugar & orange juice. Absolutley delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bake

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I give this 4 stars because I made some changes to the recipe. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and butter instead of shortening (just my preference). I did not add nuts and raisins and I used store-bought white frosting. This was a delicious spiced cake - a big hit with the husband and 2-year-old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I decided to make this cake because it most closely matched the type of cake I wanted. I did make some changes which are significant and in my opinion, enhanced the flavor. I used two eggs, substituted milk for water and butter for shortening. I also used a tsp of vanilla. I did add a tsp more of cinnamon and didn't have either cloves or allspice, so I used 1 tsp of apple pie seasoning - delish! I also left out the raisins and nuts and substitued about 1.5 cups of finely diced Macintosh apples. I dusted the top with powdered sugar and it was just perfect - without frosting. Excellent basic cake recipe! Thanks so much for sharing - it was very close to the cake I had recently in Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
I am teaching a cooking class for 8 six to eight year olds. This was the first cake they made. It got good reviews from all eight families. : - )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made this cake for my son's kindergarten class with the applesauce that they made together, everyone just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crowsnest Pass, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Pretty good. Everyone said they liked it. I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States