My Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is more in response to KKH3 and those who thought that review was helpful, rather than a rating on the recipe, which is really good (used bread crumbs instead of fresh bread). KKH3s review made smile. Sounds like something a very new cook would say. The recipe does not say to SPREAD the mixture in a 9 X 13 pan. It says to shape it into a loaf shape and place it in the 9 x 13 pan. Two very different procedures. A 9 x 13 pan is PERFECT. Thanks for the smile. It made my day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Barbara109... How much oatmeal do you use when you sub for the 3 slices of bead? That sounds like a healthy way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
for a healther meatloaf put it in a foil pan punch holes in bottom with a knife and place on a rack in a boiler pan the fat cooks out of the meatloaf and runs into the pan below much much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I too baked this recipe at 350 instead of 425 degrees and had good results. Also I used my meat ther. to make sure it was baked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I took a short cut and used 3/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs in place of the bread slices and Italian-style seasoning. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I make this similar, use the whole pack of onion soup mix, pour a can of tomatoe sauce over it, but I bake it for 1 hr at 350....425 seems tooooo high.very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I am editing this review to answer the oatmeal question. I have a cooking method suggestion. My suggestion is to shape it into a loaf and rub cornmeal on the top and sides before baking for extra crispness. I haven't tried this after basting with ketchup though. I also put the loaf in a 12X15 jelly roll pan on a rack - then all the fat goes underneath. I spray the rack with cooking spray. Someone tried to spread it a 9x13 pan and it burned. The recipe clearly states "shape into a loaf" first. This is an excellent meatloaf and the ingredients can easily be changed to individual tastes. I prefer oatmeal instead of bread cubes for convenience and nutrition. I don't measure the oatmeal - just dump it in until it feels right but I think it's about half a cup. Also, any size pan will do as long as you can get a rack in it. Line the pan with foil put the meatloaf on the rack and you have easy clean up of the fat that drips underneath the rack. FYI - I put oatmeal in my grilled hamburgers too - can't tell it's there when they are cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I've tried a few meatloaf recipes from this site and this one is, by far, my favorite! I made it last week for the family and they all loved it! I loved it because not only did it taste delish, but was easy to make and didn't have a lot of ingredients. Per suggestions by others, I topped the meatloaf with ketchup and brown sugar before cooking; great suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
After a few minor adjustments for my families tastes this was a huge hit! Thanks for giving me back a great meatloaf recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I was looking for a meatloaf recipe that didn't call for egg for my 2 year old that has an egg allergy. I was excited to find that this recipe didn't need the egg! it stayed together really well. I also substituted gluten free, rice bread crumbs for the bread pieces. Instead of using onion soup mix (which I was having trouble finding in an all natural form) I added 2 T onion powder and 2 all natural veggie bouillon cubes. I definitely upped the seasoning and then sprinkled some brown sugar on the top -- the results were awesome!!! If you're looking for an egg free-gluten free recipe - try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States