My Kid's Favorite Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DesiLuGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This was such a delicious and flavorful meal. My husband and daughter ate it up. At first I was skeptical about making it with beer on low heat but decided to give it a try. After reading all the good and bad reviews on here I did switch some things up. Instead of using steak seasoning I used Garlic Salt, Garlic Powder, Black Pepper, and Santa Maria Seasoning (I'm not sure if every store has it. But it's easy to find in California). I put a bit of EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil) in the pan and browned the chops. I used 2/3 cup of Heineken Beer (I read someone else used it as well so I thought I'd give it a try. But my husband is a Bud Light drinker so next time I'm going to try that.), 2/3 cup of Hickory Smoked BBQ, about 1/4 cup of A1 Steak Sauce, about 2 to 3 dashes of Worcestershire's Sauce, and about 1/2 cup of brown sugar (I actually just used two handfuls, I don't really measure I eyeball a lot). I cut up some Vidalia onions and put it on top of the chops in the sauce and I just simmered on Low Heat for 2 hours. It came out perfect! Meat came right off the bones. I served it with white rice. It went great together! By the way I only cooked with 4 chops so that's why I had to reduce the quantity of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DesiLuGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Heineken, Montreal Steak seasoning, 'Sweet Baby Ray's' Honey BBQ Sauce and Vidalia onions - How can you go wrong here? After simmering for 2 hours the bone fell off the tender sweet meat. Easy to make & clean up after, and tastes so good. I've made this 5 times, my mom asked me for the recipe after she tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
It is VERY rare that I rate a recipe this low and I'm sorry to break my good review streak but this turned out horrible for us. First of all - 2 TBLS of steak seasoning?!? Yikes - I reduced it down to a 1.5 TBLS and was still too much (but I didn't find that out until I took a bite). Second - we found the combination of beer & BBQ sauce weird (I used KC Masterpeice). Third - it smelled funny the entire time it cooked (minor complaint compared to the poor taste). Of the six chops - we barely finished 4 of them (one for each of us to choke down) and we threw the remaining two away. My daughter tried to dip them in ketchup of all things to try to make them taste better to no avail. I wouldn't say NOT to try this - it just didn't work for us...at all. Good luck and happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This recipe is great, but I recommend using bone-in chops. This is very similar to a pulled pork recipe that I used to make for a restaurant. Boneless chops tend to be very dry, even after simmering for a couple of hours. I was very generous with the rub (spices), and I used Montreal Steak Seasoning, garlic powder, a bit of paprika and a rosemary herb seasoning from pampered chef. I believe that it is very important to use good beer in this recipe. I used Guiness and it was fine, but any darker beer should be good. I also used a bit of apple cider vinegar, brown sugar, worsteshire and one white onion. I only used between 8 & 10 oz of beer and the sauce was epic. Knock your socks off good. You can simmer this recipe for 6 hours and it wont be too long, as long as the heat is extremely low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was a huge hit. Easy as can be. For all you folks worried about giving your kids beer, don't be. :) Just like cooking with wine, the alcohol burns off and leaves a terrific flavor. I used pork chops with the bone, which is much more flavorful and tender than boneless. Like others, I used Sweet Baby Ray's Honey BBQ sauce and vidalia onions. Make sure you cook as long as directed, at the lowest flame - it should barely simmer, else it will dry out - the longer you cook it, the more tender it will be! Just keep fork-testing it. The family LOVED this! Thanks for a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I have made this recipe two nights in a row because my husband can't get enough! I didn't have any BBQ sauce so I took the advice of another reviewer and made my own with ketchup, worcestshire sauce, brown sugar, dijon mustard and a dab of hot sauce. Also added a clove of minced garlic, and a handful of chopped celery and carrots. I used a can of Canadian beer, and a sprinkle of thyme. WOW! I uncovered it the last 20 minutes of cooking so the sauce would thicken. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
omg, these are by far the most flavorful pork chops I have had in ages!! I used thick in bone chops, added my own spices..half a bottle of bud light, some hickory honey smoked bbq sauce, and a small onion...wow, just wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This recipe was loved by the whole family. I did salt/pepper, then sauteed the meat in garlic oil before adding to the crockpot. I also added worchestershire sauce and red pepper flake. When it came to serve, I added cornstarch dissolved in cold water to thicken it. Works both on rice and on hamburger buns. Easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
It was so nice to have some different way to prepare pork chops. I really enjoyed how tender they turned out and the unique flavor of the onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERRINOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Enfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
This was a great recipe, which really surprised me. I used Sam Adams Boston Lager (it's what was in the fridge) and KC Masterpiece barbecue (again, what was in the Fridge). I was out of A1 so I used worcestershire sauce. I like it because it can sit on the stove top while you do other things -- and it only uses one pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States