My Husband's Pad Thai Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This recipe was just ok. It does not taste like traditional Pad Thai. I found the flavors, other than the heat, to be bland. The heat was over whelming. In order to make it have any flavor other than hot, I did add a couple of tablespoons of peanut butter and brown sugar. I think without those additions it would not have even been just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cache Valley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I was okay with this recipe. My husband and I have been searching far and wide for a grade A pad thai recipe. This was okay but we both felt it was missing something. Tamerind? I am unsure. I prepared it exactly as directed except I used a 16 oz package of the rice noodles which works out pretty good if your not crazy about a whole ton of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
With the high reviews I was expecting something fabulous. I didn't even try a bite. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I have made this many times now and the family loves it. As written it is on the spicy side but if you eliminate the chili oil it is fine. It works great with leftover grilled chicken as well. I think the 50 minute prepare time is a little long, most of the time it is chopping and soaking the noodles. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Makes a really good sauce, and it's easy to substitute the veggies/meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was very good, but VERY spicy! I even left out the chili oil, and holy cow it was hot! I ended up using almost a cup of melted creamy peanut butter with some rice vinegar and brown sugar and stirred that in.... still spicy, but much easier to eat. This also made a very large quantity. Lastly, I am no major chef, but the prep time an this was about 60-75 minutes.... this is no quick weeknight meal. BUT, again, thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 932ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I have always wanted to try this and had some shrimp that I needed to use up so today was the day. I must say one thing---if you are not a fan of extra hot dishes, please go easy on the chili garlic sauce and the chili oil. I made the recipe with the original amounts but next time, I will decrease the amounts of both--one tbls.of chili sauce and one tsp. of the chili oil. Please add the chopped peanuts and the cilantro, even though the recipe says they are optional. The addition of these two ingredients really add to the flavors. Also, I had the thin rice vermicelli on hand which was from our Asian store but use the thicker ones as the vermicelli does not hold up . All in all, it was a very tasty recipe and I will try this again with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Trail, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty closely and I love the ingredients. I added a half of a red bell pepper with the celery and onions, I also added some chopped green onions with the peanuts and red chili peppers at the end. The only part that didn't come out well where the rice noodles. I knew when it said to boil the water and let them sit for 10 minutes that they were going to be too soft but I did it anyway and they were. Next time I'll put some warm water in a pan and let them soak until they are soft, not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
It was great, I doubled the sauce because I like everything drenched so it was a little soupy in the end (plus the TJ noodles were 14oz.) the boyfriend liked it more than I did although it was almost restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicianyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
OK, this is NOT traditional Pad Thai, but this is a pretty good recipe. The heat is wonderful and the flavor very good. I had it with friends who made the shrimp recipe and then I made it at my home with marinated tofu. I would rate this a very good variation. I enjoyed the change. I am partial to the taste of tamarind in my pad thai so I added that last time and I changed the garlic chili sauce to a really good chili oil. It is one of my favorite variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Pad Thai

See how to make a great pad thai at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States