My Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Folks, the ham bone is necessary to this dish. It contributes a lot of the flavor. If you don't have a ham bone, this isn't going to come out very well, and it's not going to be the recipe's fault. This is delicious if you make it according to the directions. It's rich and really nicely flavored--the best hoppin' john I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Of the recipes available, I chose this as a cook who combines favorite recipes is a person after my own heart - especially as Hoppin John can be made in a variety of ways, as long as it has a couple of key ingredients. I found this recipe easy to use and very tasty. I made it to accompany collards, corn bread, benne wafers, and Carolina Gold rice for good luck and wealth in the new year (not bad for a Yankee boy). I would add a few pointers. In the South, neck bones are a preferred addition as they have tasty meat on them. I have also used hocks or hog jowls although the latter can be fatty and should be discarded midway through the cooking. I would not use a bone from a sweet ham such as "Honey Baked" as they do not have the same flavor. I also add a couple of diced tomatoes at the end of the cooking for color and interest. They should be cooked briefly and not allowed to boil down. This time, I misjudged the salt and added too much. To counteract the effects, I added a couple of red potatoes to the pot cut in thin medallions. They absorbed the extra salt. I removed them before they became too soft and, not wanting to waste them, put them on a plate. They were delicioius, espeically with the Hoppin John on top!!! This would be a great alternative for those who do not like rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This may have made the difference between a 3* and higher, but I was unable to get my hands on a ham bone. I followed the recipe exactly for the rest. It was hearty, filling, and great for a cold December night. It was suggested by my dinner mate that the addition of 'color' like red pepper and corn might increase the flavour. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Let me start by saying that I hate black-eyed peas, but annually try them on New Years day!! This was the best I have had. I couldn't find a ham bone, like some other people, but I just used a package of diced ham I found at the grocery by the bacon. Everyone loved them and there were no left overs. The search is over for a Black-eyed Pea recipe! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this, except for my picky son - he just picked out the ham and ate it. Made with leftover ham - but did not have the bone. Still very good. The wine added a nice flavor, but you could substitute more chicken stock if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have never ate nor made this dish. When I made it yesterday for my family they loved it! It was very flavorful and will be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomNom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Excellent! I used 2 ham hocks instead, and added a can of drained diced tomatoes towards the end. Kids and husband liked it for our New Years meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is definitely a Five-Star recipe. My family loved it. I did have to add more chicken broth on the second day for leftovers, but didn't make a difference. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I loved this soup! The only thing I did different is I did use any water, just extra chicken broth. And I didn't have a ham bone so I used a smoked turkey leg. And I didn't put in any rice, it was great without it. Serve with Tasty Collard Greens and Cornbread, perfect for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good. 5 Star. used 1 lb peas, 1 teasp. thyme, 2 cups broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States