My Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for the first time this year, and it was pretty good. I gave it four stars because, being a Northerner, I don't really know what it was supposed to taste like. I made as written (after searching all over my small city for a store that carried ham bones), except I browned the ham bone, onions and celery on the stove, then cooked it all day in the slow cooker. I added in the beans and some pre-cooked quinoa (instead of the nutritionally useless rice) about two hours before service, and I used homemade turkey stock instead of chicken stock because I had it on hand. I also added some greens and halved grape tomatoes at the end, for color and nutrition. I might make it again, but rarely, because I found it to be extremely strong in the ham flavor and rather greasy, I guess because of the ham bone. It's tasty, but left me craving a salad, even with the added veg. I'll try to remember to get some Hoppin John if I can the next time I visit the South so I can see what I'm missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgragg
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Despite getting confused between the recipe and its photo, I opted to added the rice directly to the bean mixture. It helped to absorb the extra moisture. This will be our New Year's favorite! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
LOVED THIS RECIPE!!! I didn't have a ham bone, but, being a Southern girl that didn't deter me. I boiled smoked turkey necks until the meat separated from the bones. Removed the bones and skin. To add more flavor, I used 2 cups of the liquid from the turkey necks. I strained a can of petite diced tomatoes after I finished cooking. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
One of the best blackeyed pea recipes I've tried. Must admit it was better than my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I hate reviewing a recipe after changing it up so much, but... this recipe is really bland with no seasoning to liven it up. My changes: only had 3 people eating, so slightly reduced amounts of some things (but not onion or garlic, never those!) to wind up with a meal and manageable leftovers. Also used about 1/2 lb of pulled pork (smoked by DH, so quite flavorful) in place of the ham bone and ham. The dish was good, but not flavorful, if that makes sense. A very generous dose of hot sauce made it pretty tasty, though. Will make again, but will also add a Tbsp of cajun seasoning to the pot and work from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Excellent! I used 2 ham hocks instead, and added a can of drained diced tomatoes towards the end. Kids and husband liked it for our New Years meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had everything ready then discovered my ham bone in the freezer had freezer-burn. The store was out of all pork except boneless loin, so I chopped up 4 pieces of bacon and fried with the celery and onions. We enjoyed this very much. The only white wine I had on hand was our local white apple cider wine and it was really extremely nice with the ham and black-eyed-peas. The recipe did need more liquid and since I had no more chicken stock, I poured in a little more of the apple cider wine. It was not overly salty like some ham dishes can be and worked in nicely with my gluten-free diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sings2high

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had to tweak just a tad given what I had on hand... I had already used my ham bone, so I used Better Than Bullion's Ham Stock to make up the flavor. Wonderful stuff! I use it for any recipe with ham in it (such as pea soup or potato soup). I also didn't have celery, so omitted it. Finally, because I was trying to cut down on time, I put the rice in the steamer to cook while the peas cooked on the stove. I then mixed together for about 10 minutes to get the finished dish. My husband spiced his up with cayenne and Tabasco, but I liked it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was amazing! I made it as directed except used dry black eyed peas that I cooked ahead of time. It is so wonderful! Oh, I didn't have any wine, so I skipped that, but can imagine the extra layer of flavor it would add. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Why can I no longer add recipes to my recipe box or print out the recipes? I can not find anything on the site to do this any more. This is very discouraging. This recipe is a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States