My Hoppin' John Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Deliscouis a keeper in my house.Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Why can I no longer add recipes to my recipe box or print out the recipes? I can not find anything on the site to do this any more. This is very discouraging. This recipe is a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had to tweak just a tad given what I had on hand... I had already used my ham bone, so I used Better Than Bullion's Ham Stock to make up the flavor. Wonderful stuff! I use it for any recipe with ham in it (such as pea soup or potato soup). I also didn't have celery, so omitted it. Finally, because I was trying to cut down on time, I put the rice in the steamer to cook while the peas cooked on the stove. I then mixed together for about 10 minutes to get the finished dish. My husband spiced his up with cayenne and Tabasco, but I liked it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XineRevelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very good. 5 Star. used 1 lb peas, 1 teasp. thyme, 2 cups broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is definitely a Five-Star recipe. My family loved it. I did have to add more chicken broth on the second day for leftovers, but didn't make a difference. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madquilt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was amazing! I made it as directed except used dry black eyed peas that I cooked ahead of time. It is so wonderful! Oh, I didn't have any wine, so I skipped that, but can imagine the extra layer of flavor it would add. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Awesome recipe. I have heard that eating Black-eyed Peas on New Year's Day will bring good luck for the whole year soI made this tasty soup and used this recipe as a 'jump off' point. (I always research many recipes and pull together my own dish. Be brave with your cooking!) Browning the ham bone is the key to this recipe. It gives the oil that great salty smokey flavor that the veggies get to soak up when you cook them in it. Yum. I added alot of elements and changed a few things but def a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metalicious
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't have white wine, so I used beer instead! Like other reviewers, I used chicken broth instead of water. Oh yeah, and I didn't have b.e.p., so I used black beans. Delicious. We ate it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Perfect as written. I made this for New Years day and it was a huge hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Great recipe, very tasty. I love to make it during the fall/winter months not just for New Year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hoppin' John

Enjoy Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day, and it’s good luck all year long!

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

My Mom's Parmesan Chicken

Baked Parmesan chicken with an easy, elegant white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States