My-Hop Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
No complaints here. Also, no changes. I didn't let the batter rest in the fridge, I just left it on the counter for a bit. I'm sure that's for the lemon juice to react with the baking powder/soda and to make it fluffier, which is exactly what happened. Good pancake recipe. NOTE: You might want to stick with buttermilk instead of soured milk with this recipe. Sure, soured milk works okay but your pancakes will be flatter. Or, that was my experiance the second time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is very good. I will make pancakes with a resting time from now on. I did add frozen blueberries just because I do like them so. Thanks Drew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This recipe went over extremly well!! I followed the recipe, and I should have doubled it. Very close to well "you know"! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These pancakes are GOOD! The lemon taste is subtle but makes all the difference. I didn't have time to let the batter sit but they were still fabulous. Try it with sour cream if you want something really incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I have been on a quest to find a great homemade pancake recipe that doesn't need syrup to flavor it, and this is the one! All three of my boys and my niece loved these pacakes, which is a rarity in my kitchen. I omited the oil and went with applesauce instead and used egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
AWESOME! I've never had that famous pancake house's pancakes, so I can't really compare these to those, but they were definately delicious and something I know I will be making over and over! Made these exactly as written and would not change a thing. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent! Instead of Buttermilk I added 1T. lemon juice to skim milk and let it set 5 minutes to sour. My wife is not big on pancakes but she loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
These are excellent. I have been looking for a good pancake for a long time and nothing was exeptional..these however are. It just goes to show you more reviews doesnt mean better. These are a hidden secret. They are crisp on the outside and moist and delicious on the inside. I didn't have buttermilk so I put 3 tbls vinegar in and let it sit for 5 minutes, also all I had was whole milk for our little one so I used that. I didn't refrigerate the time specified, just until the griddle was ready. I finally found the best pancake, others must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aycfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
They were good. We didn't really let it sit a whole half-hour, either, because we were short on time. I'd make those again. as far as being like (I) Hop, there is another recipe that's texture is closer, and I don't think my kids were quite as fond of this as they were the other one because of the texture, but I think it's the vanilla and sugar that make it taste more like theirs. The other ones taste a little more "rubbery" to me, so it's a matter of preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These pancakes are delicious! They are very light. I followed the recipe exactly, except I didnt put the batter in the fridge beforehand. It made about 14 medium sized pancakes-enough for about 4 adults. I will definitely make these from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States