My-Hop Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Great pancake recipe! I didn't change a thing! There's nothing better on a Sunday morning than the smell of a home cooked breakfast and freshly brewed coffee. Be sure to use REAL buttermilk and don't over stir the batter. You'll get some really nice and fluffy pankcakes - perfect with real maple syrup or sliced strawberries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
No complaints here. Also, no changes. I didn't let the batter rest in the fridge, I just left it on the counter for a bit. I'm sure that's for the lemon juice to react with the baking powder/soda and to make it fluffier, which is exactly what happened. Good pancake recipe. NOTE: You might want to stick with buttermilk instead of soured milk with this recipe. Sure, soured milk works okay but your pancakes will be flatter. Or, that was my experiance the second time I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Very simple and delicious recipe. I also just let my batter rest for a few minutes (20mins) before hand to speed up this resting process I let my buttermilk and egg reach room temp before using. The addition of the lemon juice is pure genius! The lemon juice (citric acid) causes an exothermic reaction with the Baking Soda (sodium bicarbonate)....results...Bubbles! This makes for lots of fluffy airy pancakes...This is why I love baking...it's like being in chemistry class but with edible results:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladydracene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is very good. I will make pancakes with a resting time from now on. I did add frozen blueberries just because I do like them so. Thanks Drew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Until this recipe I never found a pancake that I fell in love with. Many were good but not OMG good. But this one....is OMG good! I used French Vanilla extract instead but that is the only change. My mom who doesn't eat much only wanted one, but got up to eat three more. I like to make them in bulk freeze them individually and take out what I need during the week. I throw them in the toaster to heat them up, but my hubby is happy with them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
After trying several times to make this recipe, I'm afraid that I'm not satisfied with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NO KIDDING?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Ye gods these were good! I don't like huge puffy pancakes, so I deliberately thinned them out abit, but for us they were perfect! I had to adjust for what I had on hand and ended up a) halfing recipe, b) I couldn't stand putting in all that oil so I only used about 1T of oil and used half and half for difference, c) used fresh lemon juice (2 good squeezes for a half), let sit for 20", then thinned out batter with about a dollop of milk. Ended up with 7 nice size pancakes - perfect for husband & I. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Yummy! My new fav. I had to substitute with skim milk and lemon juice in place of buttermilk. (Mine had a scary green fungus growing on it!) Let the milk sit with lemon juice for five minutes to sour. Cut back the canola oil a little and cut back the sugar by about a tablespoon. Mixed it up in Kitchenaid. My son is a pancake conosiuer...he loved these. Served with pancake staples of bacon and syrup. I'm so keeping this one. Used cooking spray instead of butter and canola oil instead of vegetable. Put in the fridge for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I'm not much of a pancake eater, but my husband wanted some for his birthday breakfast. These were wonderful! Even though I replaced 3/4 of a cup of the all purpose flour with whole wheat pastry flour and cut back the sugar by about a tablespoon, these still came out light and fluffy. I also added some blueberries to each pancake before flipping them. I was very impressed with this recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My-Hop Pancakes

These fluffy hotcakes resemble those from a certain pancake house.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Pancakes I

See how to make a simple 5-star pancake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States