My Grandmother's Best Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Stunning pie! I made it with blackberries I picked in the morning since I haven't had a chance to pick blueberries yet. I also added some brown sugar on the top to make the crumble go a little further. It was delicious! I hate making pie crusts, but this one is so easy and so yummy I'll use for all my pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Oh my goodness. I am not a baker and I never make pies and I needed a dessert to use my blueberries and what I had on hand and I was so nervous about making this but the other reviews made it seem possible. So I made it just like it said and one of the guys I gave it too said this beat his grandmothers pie. Which to me is a biggy!!! I'm making it again this weekend when we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
this is the best pie I have ever made!!! I made the first with blueberries and just finished the second with strawberries/raspberries and blackberries, and perfect every single time, not matter what you put into it! EASY EASY EASY I didn't change a thing and wouldn't its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This is easy and yummy. A lot of time is spent “resting” but it is simple to make and worth the wait. I didn’t add any sugar to the berries because I prefer the natural deliciousness of the ripe berries, but if your berries are tart I would add some sugar to the berries. I may have over mixed the crust a little too much but it ultimately held its form and had perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was simple and tasty. A nice break from the traditional crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My fiance and I both loved this! I tweaked it a little, but not enough to be considered "custom." I just used a bag of unsweetened frozen mixed berries, thawed (I did try to dab up significant moisture) and supplemented with a few fresh blueberries. Once it cooled, it was just "ok"--it got really good the next day, after it had chilled. Will definitely make again--so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
VERY easy, VERY good. Only added some brown sugar to my berries (because they were wild picked blackberries and raspberries) and a little to the crumb topping as well. Thank you for the recipe, its a keeper!!! Can't wait to make again when blueberries are in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I have a terrible fear of pastry making - this pie was soo easy and delicious. I used strawberries and blackberries, and added a bit (2-3 tbsp) of balsamic reduction. It was to die for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SparkletheXWoman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I wanted a blueberry dessert that was a little different and this fit the bill nicely. The crust is incredibly simple to make and the filling couldn't be easier. My berries were a bit tart, so I sprinkled a little Splenda over them before adding the crumb topping. My pie was completely done in 25 minutes (the crust was actually getting very dark). This is delicious with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
First I would like to say that nothing bothers me more than someone that does not follow the recipe and when it doesn't turn out they give the recipe a bad review. Folks, please follow the recipe first before you change anything and review it… then, change whatever you like. If your version turns out good please share it with us under the custom versions. We would love that..... Ok with that said and out of the way, I loved this pie. It was so easy to make and just about as perfect as you can get for a blueberry pie. The crust was the easiest crust I have ever made. No need for a rolling pin! Thank you Fabian Karrholm for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States