My Grandmother's Best Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
First I would like to say that nothing bothers me more than someone that does not follow the recipe and when it doesn't turn out they give the recipe a bad review. Folks, please follow the recipe first before you change anything and review it… then, change whatever you like. If your version turns out good please share it with us under the custom versions. We would love that..... Ok with that said and out of the way, I loved this pie. It was so easy to make and just about as perfect as you can get for a blueberry pie. The crust was the easiest crust I have ever made. No need for a rolling pin! Thank you Fabian Karrholm for sharing this recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri's Best Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philadelphia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Spring Hope, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Foolproof and Delicious! This pie is perfect for anyone who has pie crust fear or is looking for something easy and yet still a "wow" item. I have made this many times and done things like substituted fruits, messed up portions and it still comes out wonderful! I have even passed it along to friends of mine that are serious pastry chefs(in high end restaurants in chicago!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I followed the instructions and with a little change i.e. added 1 cup blueberry+1 cup raspberry and sprinkled some brown suger over them then added the rest crumb dough.With a scoop of vanilla ice-cream it was a winner.thanks alot Fabian !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
this is the best pie I have ever made!!! I made the first with blueberries and just finished the second with strawberries/raspberries and blackberries, and perfect every single time, not matter what you put into it! EASY EASY EASY I didn't change a thing and wouldn't its perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I wanted a blueberry dessert that was a little different and this fit the bill nicely. The crust is incredibly simple to make and the filling couldn't be easier. My berries were a bit tart, so I sprinkled a little Splenda over them before adding the crumb topping. My pie was completely done in 25 minutes (the crust was actually getting very dark). This is delicious with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Stunning pie! I made it with blackberries I picked in the morning since I haven't had a chance to pick blueberries yet. I also added some brown sugar on the top to make the crumble go a little further. It was delicious! I hate making pie crusts, but this one is so easy and so yummy I'll use for all my pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
VERY easy, VERY good. Only added some brown sugar to my berries (because they were wild picked blackberries and raspberries) and a little to the crumb topping as well. Thank you for the recipe, its a keeper!!! Can't wait to make again when blueberries are in season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MalElaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Oh my goodness. I am not a baker and I never make pies and I needed a dessert to use my blueberries and what I had on hand and I was so nervous about making this but the other reviews made it seem possible. So I made it just like it said and one of the guys I gave it too said this beat his grandmothers pie. Which to me is a biggy!!! I'm making it again this weekend when we have company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This was simple and tasty. A nice break from the traditional crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
If I make this recipe again I will add more sugar and more butter. The crust was really dry. I used a combo of blueberries and blackberries-way too tart! Other than that it was alright, not the best by just alright. I think this pie might be really good with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Way, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States