My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Not having had this before, I did not know what to expect. But this was delicious! And very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LukesMommy
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Amazing taste! Who knew it was this easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
The perfect Shoo Fly Pie! I have searched high and low for a recipe that had just the right amount of "goo"! This is it! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
I grew up eating Shoo-Fly Pie and never knew how easy it was to make until I was an adult. I no longer live in PA Dutch area and enjoy introducing people to it here in WV!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
I have tried many recipes for Shoofly pie and have been disappointed. This is the BEST Shoofly pie I have ever made or eaten. The recipe works best w/ a 9" deep dish pie crust. I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
I haven't had shoofly pie since I was a kid. And every year at Christmas time I crave it, but, haven't ever been able to get a recipe for it until now. Of course I looked for the easiest recipe, and came across this one. As it was baking, the wonderful aroma swept me back to Grandma's kitchen. I could almost picture her tending the oven, making sure us girls didn't peak. Thank you so much for posting this simple and so totally delicious recipe. I let it rest for about 10 minutes. That's all I could wait. I just had to dig in. My son and I have eaten half the pie already. And I made a 12in. deep dish pie. This is definately one of those comfort dishes and I will treasure this one always. Thanks again for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I loved this recipe! I was looking for a shoo fly pie recipe like the ones I grew up with in Pennsylvania, and this is authentic! I used a 9 inch deep dish shell, and I still did not use all of the filling and crumbs. If you do, it WILL spill over, and believe me, it's a mess. I also think to get the right consistency, you need to alternate layering the crumbs with the filling, with crumbs on the bottom and the top. Bake time was just right, even with the deep dish crust. I let it cool 30 min. before digging in. This pie is best served warm, but don't microwave it to reheat it. Thanks for a recipe that I will make when I want some true comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very easy to make! Instructions were accurate and easy to understand. I didn't use all the topping though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I live smack in the middle of Amish country. I followed the recipe and had no problems at all with over flow. Crumbs do not need to be mixed in. If you want a truly "wet bottom" shoo fly pie this is it. This recipe is comparable to the pies that are sold at the Farmer's markets in this area by the Amish and Mennonites. Great recipe!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My Dad is very picky about his shoo fly pie and my Mom is unable to remember how to make it. This recipe is the one most like the original from my grandmother. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States