My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by tracey-cait
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
WHAT HAPPENED?!?! we follow the directions as they say, and then molasses goo breaks the pie shell and falls all over pan. we let some fall and and then when we thought it was done spilling we put it on another tray and then in the oven. BAD IDEA. The pie rose and even more spilled over and burned inside the oven. The house smelled awful. when we pulled it out it was underdone at the bottom of course and was complete liquid, but the top was burnt and pudding like. These instructions need to be revised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This is my first attempt at a Shoo-Fly. I served it warm, about two hours after it came out of the oven. The general consensus was that it should have been chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cryduchat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voorhees, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My family is from PA, and my mother/granmother use to make this on ocassion. I like to cook/bake, and have made it now several times. Always trying to perfect it. And, this is almost a perfect recipe too. Those trying it for the first time.. you can vary the ingredients some. The liquid part. So it doesn't overflow. Use 3/4 cup molassas and 3/4 cup of water. Strength/bitterness will depend on the molassas (robustness). The pie wont' taste so bitter if you use the lighter types. If you only have the robust, try using only 1/2 cup molassas and more water, or swap with 1/4 karo. Some only use karo, but, you won't get the traditional flavor of a true shoefly pie. You can also just do 1/2 cup M.. and 1 cup of water. This will make it less robust, and prevent it from spilling over. You will also get the the wet bottom if you sprinkle a little of the dry topping in first, then liquid, then more dry, etc. I prefer this way, as it won't be too liquid on the bottom. I also add a couple drops of cider vinegar to the liquid mix to give it a little more umph. But, only a few drops. Again, if you are making/following this recipe, best if you use a slightly larger pie shell, or cut back some on the liquid... Otherwise, it may overflow. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This recipe is dead on - exactly what it's supposed to be like! Maybe it's an acquired taste or something, but as a Pennsylvania native I give it 5 stars! I did use a deep dish pie plate (it does make kind of a lot) so I had to bake it longer than the directions state. It should be gooey and wet near the bottom but not totally liquid. I suggest spooning in the crumb mixture and swirling it around with a knife - but do not mix it in! It's OK if there are dry crumbs on the top in places - its supposed to be kind of marbled. It's not the prettiest looking dessert out there - but this was hands down the best Shoofly Pie I've ever had! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I have never made shoo-fly pie, or eaten it. But tonight I used this recipe, and the first pie I made, I followed the directions perfectly. But, it was, well, it was gross. So the second pie, I used chocolate cookies for the crumble, and mixed the flour and brown sugar into it. It tasted so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I liked it o'k. Almost too sweet; my dad didn't like it at all. He loves pie so I thought I would surprise him on his birthday with this old fashioned recipe, which he had never heard of before...he managed to eat a piece but said he wouldn't be taking any home with him. Since I'm the only one who liked it, won't be making this one again--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Molasses taste is waaay to strong for me. I read so many Amish books and had always wanted to try Shoo Fly Pie. I like molasses cookies but the taste of the pie was just too strong. Maybe I would have liked it better if I used half molasses and half karo syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sylva, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My Dad is very picky about his shoo fly pie and my Mom is unable to remember how to make it. This recipe is the one most like the original from my grandmother. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Have been searching for a couple of years now for a replica of the Shoo-fly Pie a friend of my son made him.. made this one for him and he gave it his stamp of approval. Thanks so much for ending my search =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I live smack in the middle of Amish country. I followed the recipe and had no problems at all with over flow. Crumbs do not need to be mixed in. If you want a truly "wet bottom" shoo fly pie this is it. This recipe is comparable to the pies that are sold at the Farmer's markets in this area by the Amish and Mennonites. Great recipe!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States