My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Fabulous Shoofly pie! Nice wet bottom. The only thing I changed is the 1/4 cup shortening to 1/3 cup shortening. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thespecks5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tower City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I wish I'd known to use mild molasses! I only had blackstrap, and being the naive northerner I am, didn't know any better. I ended up with a pie that was inedible. I give it 2 stars because it would have been helpful to distinguish a type of molasses in the recipe--it's imperative to the success of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Two slight tweaks for a better pie: 1. Put the baking soda into the dry layer. (This eliminates a slight funny taste it gives the wet layer.) 2. Remember to use UNSULPHERED molasses. For a slightly less strong pie, if you can find it, use King's Po-T-Rik syrup. It's 1/2 molasses and 1/2 corn syrup. (Or you can make your own... if straight molassess is too strong for your taste.) But from the Central Pennsylvanian... this pie is 100% accurate and authentic. Making it took me home. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Sorry, but even though I'm well aware pie preferences and versions vary, this is NOT a traditional Shoo fly. Shoo Fly pie, in all my experiences, resembles a puddle of thickened molasses with islands of crumbs afloat and throughout. This became (though delicious) one big incorporated mass; the crumbs which bareley had enough moisture to form the "meal" consistency were completely consumed and it created a more English pudding cake consistency than the gooey-with-chunks pie we all expected. So adamant am I about how NOT right this is that to not disappoint the Shoo Fly lovers I am baking another set of pies tonight to serve tomorrow. This one will be called "Cas' Molasses Pudding Pie" -- it will NOT be passed off as a Shoo Fly because it simply is not. And believe me I had NO problems with the amounts, temps, setting up while it baked or anything. It was a DREAM to make... and will be DELICIOUS to consume. But as much as I love peanut butter I wouldn't eat a big spoon of it and say "wow, that's delicious cheddar cheese!" It just ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas in NYC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was fantastic! Was so surprised! Never having eaten or made a Shoo-Fly Pie in the past, I wasn't sure what to expect. This was very good, the only problem I had was not eating it all in one sitting. ;) Will definitely be going into our holiday recipe box. Followed the directions exactly with no issues at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this pie with 1/2 molasses and 1/2 dark corn syrup. It came out very light and like gingerbread cake, but still the molasses flavor is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this recipe according to the instuctions, but adding some of the crumb (maybe 1/4) to the filling in layers. It looked amazing and according to my brother-in-law from Pittston, PA, it is exactly right. I used a deep pie dish. It was perfect. I wish I'd taken a picture. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
LOOOOOOOOVED this recipe. Try using a larger deep dish or a second smaller pie plate/custard dish. If you try to fill too much, it will be a mess!! The only thing I included that wasn't in this recipe was some spices in the topping. And even though the original has a soft bottom, I preferred mine being a bit more set. I used the alternating topping/filling method starting with a layer of topping on the bottom. Had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I altered the recipe a little (combined it with another high rated recipe here). It turned out beautiful, no spillage at all!!!! Definately a keeper! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Well being a PA. Boy and having an Amish Grandmother, I have my own handed down version but thought I would try another recipe. Sorry to report this was a far cry from the rich sweet dark shoo fly pie I grew up with. No offense I think I will stay with my handed down recipe. Much more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildChef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States