My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Not very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
We have enjoyed shoo fly pie many times at a friend’s house, and my son requested it as his “cake” for his 8th birthday yesterday. Lacking my friend’s recipe and any experience baking a SFP, I chose 2 well-regarded recipes and made Shoo Fly Pie V alongside My Grandma’s Shoo-Fly Pie and had a taste test with 8 raters ranging in age from 4 to 60. Grandma’s was the clear favorite, but could have been gooier. Let’s just say no one has asked for a slice of either leftover pie yet today. Pie V baked up like a cake (amazingly with no eggs) and the cinnamon tasted wrong in a SFP. Pie V was also a deep brown while Grandma’s had the sandy top I was expecting. I wish the recipe had more of a description of the pie at the point it should be removed from the oven. At the 30 minutes specified in the recipe, Pie V was completely liquid, so I left it in until it just jiggled a bit. Perhaps that was too long and the cause of the major texture problem and unappealingly dark color in the finished pie. Grandma’s was removed at exactly the time called for in the recipe, but again, firmed up too much (more than my friends’ anyway) as well. I’m giving Grandma’s 4 stars because I would bake it again but take it out of the oven a little sooner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This Shoo Fly pie recipe is the BOMB! I am originally from the Philadelphia area and grew up eatinig this pie. Many many many times I have tried to recreate this with horrible outcomes. I did follow the suggestion to put 1/4 of the crumbs in before adding the molasses mixture, the pie maintained some of the wet bottom but not gushy. I will definately make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oldsmar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Fabulous Shoofly pie! Nice wet bottom. The only thing I changed is the 1/4 cup shortening to 1/3 cup shortening. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thespecks5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tower City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I wish I'd known to use mild molasses! I only had blackstrap, and being the naive northerner I am, didn't know any better. I ended up with a pie that was inedible. I give it 2 stars because it would have been helpful to distinguish a type of molasses in the recipe--it's imperative to the success of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Two slight tweaks for a better pie: 1. Put the baking soda into the dry layer. (This eliminates a slight funny taste it gives the wet layer.) 2. Remember to use UNSULPHERED molasses. For a slightly less strong pie, if you can find it, use King's Po-T-Rik syrup. It's 1/2 molasses and 1/2 corn syrup. (Or you can make your own... if straight molassess is too strong for your taste.) But from the Central Pennsylvanian... this pie is 100% accurate and authentic. Making it took me home. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Sorry, but even though I'm well aware pie preferences and versions vary, this is NOT a traditional Shoo fly. Shoo Fly pie, in all my experiences, resembles a puddle of thickened molasses with islands of crumbs afloat and throughout. This became (though delicious) one big incorporated mass; the crumbs which bareley had enough moisture to form the "meal" consistency were completely consumed and it created a more English pudding cake consistency than the gooey-with-chunks pie we all expected. So adamant am I about how NOT right this is that to not disappoint the Shoo Fly lovers I am baking another set of pies tonight to serve tomorrow. This one will be called "Cas' Molasses Pudding Pie" -- it will NOT be passed off as a Shoo Fly because it simply is not. And believe me I had NO problems with the amounts, temps, setting up while it baked or anything. It was a DREAM to make... and will be DELICIOUS to consume. But as much as I love peanut butter I wouldn't eat a big spoon of it and say "wow, that's delicious cheddar cheese!" It just ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas in NYC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was fantastic! Was so surprised! Never having eaten or made a Shoo-Fly Pie in the past, I wasn't sure what to expect. This was very good, the only problem I had was not eating it all in one sitting. ;) Will definitely be going into our holiday recipe box. Followed the directions exactly with no issues at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this pie with 1/2 molasses and 1/2 dark corn syrup. It came out very light and like gingerbread cake, but still the molasses flavor is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this recipe according to the instuctions, but adding some of the crumb (maybe 1/4) to the filling in layers. It looked amazing and according to my brother-in-law from Pittston, PA, it is exactly right. I used a deep pie dish. It was perfect. I wish I'd taken a picture. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States