My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I wish I'd known to use mild molasses! I only had blackstrap, and being the naive northerner I am, didn't know any better. I ended up with a pie that was inedible. I give it 2 stars because it would have been helpful to distinguish a type of molasses in the recipe--it's imperative to the success of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Two slight tweaks for a better pie: 1. Put the baking soda into the dry layer. (This eliminates a slight funny taste it gives the wet layer.) 2. Remember to use UNSULPHERED molasses. For a slightly less strong pie, if you can find it, use King's Po-T-Rik syrup. It's 1/2 molasses and 1/2 corn syrup. (Or you can make your own... if straight molassess is too strong for your taste.) But from the Central Pennsylvanian... this pie is 100% accurate and authentic. Making it took me home. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Sorry, but even though I'm well aware pie preferences and versions vary, this is NOT a traditional Shoo fly. Shoo Fly pie, in all my experiences, resembles a puddle of thickened molasses with islands of crumbs afloat and throughout. This became (though delicious) one big incorporated mass; the crumbs which bareley had enough moisture to form the "meal" consistency were completely consumed and it created a more English pudding cake consistency than the gooey-with-chunks pie we all expected. So adamant am I about how NOT right this is that to not disappoint the Shoo Fly lovers I am baking another set of pies tonight to serve tomorrow. This one will be called "Cas' Molasses Pudding Pie" -- it will NOT be passed off as a Shoo Fly because it simply is not. And believe me I had NO problems with the amounts, temps, setting up while it baked or anything. It was a DREAM to make... and will be DELICIOUS to consume. But as much as I love peanut butter I wouldn't eat a big spoon of it and say "wow, that's delicious cheddar cheese!" It just ain't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas in NYC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was fantastic! Was so surprised! Never having eaten or made a Shoo-Fly Pie in the past, I wasn't sure what to expect. This was very good, the only problem I had was not eating it all in one sitting. ;) Will definitely be going into our holiday recipe box. Followed the directions exactly with no issues at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made this pie with 1/2 molasses and 1/2 dark corn syrup. It came out very light and like gingerbread cake, but still the molasses flavor is very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this recipe according to the instuctions, but adding some of the crumb (maybe 1/4) to the filling in layers. It looked amazing and according to my brother-in-law from Pittston, PA, it is exactly right. I used a deep pie dish. It was perfect. I wish I'd taken a picture. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
LOOOOOOOOVED this recipe. Try using a larger deep dish or a second smaller pie plate/custard dish. If you try to fill too much, it will be a mess!! The only thing I included that wasn't in this recipe was some spices in the topping. And even though the original has a soft bottom, I preferred mine being a bit more set. I used the alternating topping/filling method starting with a layer of topping on the bottom. Had great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I altered the recipe a little (combined it with another high rated recipe here). It turned out beautiful, no spillage at all!!!! Definately a keeper! Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Well being a PA. Boy and having an Amish Grandmother, I have my own handed down version but thought I would try another recipe. Sorry to report this was a far cry from the rich sweet dark shoo fly pie I grew up with. No offense I think I will stay with my handed down recipe. Much more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildChef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Perfect recipe!! there is nothing missing, it came out perfect and I am NOT a very good baker. This recipe is slightly different from my old one but MUCH better, cakey and delicious. I did exactly what the recipe said, you do NOT need to add the crumbs in with the liquid ingredients,or reduce the liquid at all! just press the crumbs into the mixture when it's in the shell, and then I baked mine for the first fifteen...then before lowering the temp to 350, added the rest of the crumb on top. Perfect!!! For those who had a runny mess, just try that first before giving up, it is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States