My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was my very first time baking AND eating shoofly pie. After doing a bit of research online, I found this recipe to be pretty much authentic and a true "wet bottom" version. Served it warm with very lightly-sweetened whipped cream. I liked the pie; my family was indifferent. I'm glad I tried it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I decided to try this recipe instead of my usual shoo fly pie recipe, and that was a big mistake. I followed the recipe exactly right, so I am curious as to why other people liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Easy. Tasted like I expected. I've never had Shoo-Fly before, but those that had said it was spot on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbandale, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I thought this was very easy to make and it taste good. You have to like molasses though as it is prominent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tonyvoci
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this exactly as the recipe stated and a number of bad things happened. First I'm from Lancaster PA and this is my favorite pie. A 400 degree oven over-browns the crust and crumb topping. Also 3/4 teaspoon of Baking Powder is way to much because it turns the center of the mix into a cake and makes the mixture boil over. Don't add BP! Traditional Shoo Fly pie has distinct layers of molasses gooey bottom, then the crumb topping on top with minimal mixing of the two layers. My first attempt made a cake that was very very dark in color and was nothing like Shoo Fly pie. Fortunately, I discovered Molasses cake in the effort! Then second pie I made go me much much closer to traditional Shoo Fly. I lowered the temperature 50 degrees and that completely solved the color issue. And I used 1/4 teaspoon of BP which drastically reduced the 'cake effect' and yielded a partially gooey bottom with much less mixing of the crumble top. However the crumble topping did reduce itself (melt) from crumbles to a mixed state. But it was very close. The only deviation I made in both attempts was I used unsalted butter not shortening and I added salt to the molasses and to the crumble topping. I do remember as a teenager reading the ingredients and I was shocked as to how few ingredients were used in such a rich tasting pie. The point to this anecdote is that I remember salt, lard and butter were ingredients - not shortening and no baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My Shoo Fly Pie decided to fly itself right out of the pan! I used a 9" deep dish frozen crust and it just didn't hold it during the baking process. Thankfully I had the pie pan on a sheet tray or my freshly cleaned oven would have needed it again! Haven't tasted it yet, but it smells great and what didn't overflow looks good--glad it's not supposed to be going anywhere or I'd be disappointed with the other side! I'll try this again with my own pie crust and my bigger pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I made this following the recipe exactly. (I hate it when recipes are reviewed, but they changed this or that, or substituted something. Please follow the recipe exactly, then review it) My 10 year old daughter read about shoo-fly pie in a book, and asked if we could make one. I had never made it before, or even tasted it. She LOVED it. Packed it in her school lunch for the last 3 days. and today she asked for TWO slices in her lunch. I thought it was good. Not a big fan of molasses. I did use a 10 inch pie pan because that is all I have, and it almost boiled over, but not quite. I just placed some pieces of foil under it to catch any drips. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
It was AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it sssssssssssooooooooooo much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
There is nothing like Pennsylvania Dutch Shoo Fly Pie! This is the classic wet bottom, which I like the best. I always felt bad for those who don't have access to shoo fly pie in their area, but then I saw where McClure's Bakery is now shipping shoo fly pie to anywhere in the US. If you want to try it check it out at http://shoo-fly-pie.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
we tried this - and were very careful to follow the directions / ingredients perfectly - and the pie came out a mess. The molasses all bubbled up through the crumb layer and created a hard coating on top. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States