My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I used an average store bought pie crust - WAY WAY too much liquid to put in that crust, and WAY too much crumbs to put on the top. It spilled all over the over the oven - everywhere. Maybe if you use a deeper pie dish it would work but it just spilled all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This is the first time I've tried to make a Shoo Fly Pie and I also had way too much crumb topping. The pie is in the oven right now with a cookie sheet under to catch the overflow which I know will happen. I'm giving it a fair trial and if the flavor is good I'll just 1/2 the amount of crumb topping next time. I'm giving a 3 for now since it smells wonderful. Will update once the pie is baked. Well, the crust broke and it kind of oozed so is not very pretty...but not bad for a first try. Will make this again but make a little less filling and topping. I think eventually I will get the hang of this and so it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this recipe and the Shoofly Pie V from this site on the same day to compare. The Grandma's pie was more traditional, but I liked the Shoofly Pie V recipe better. However, since there are so many wonderful desserts out there that I love, I most likely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I live in PA and this is nothing like the Lancaster County shoofly. Where is the cake top? Why is there so much wet bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Only one problem. In the above recipe, I used a standard 9" pie shell. Goop everywhere! While adding the 'crumbs' the liquid overflowed and made a mess of the oven and floor. Please change the recipe to a 9" DEEP pie shell. It looks great and fills the shell perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sticky
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp of ground clove to the boiling water then 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and the molasses and an egg when the mixture cooled off I though it was a little too much topping ( a little dry)..but I'm just a beginner. The flavor was fantastic though. Last time I had a major leak and the wet part leaked to the pie dish. This time I cut my shorting up finer for the crust…..no leaks. Sure not pretty but taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sticky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I ended up with a mess, and a whole heap of loose sugar on top. I suggest layering crumbs and molasses. Ingredients okay,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflydays
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Turned out great! I sprinkled a tiny bit of the topping in the bottom of the shell, but I didn't have to. It wasn't runny. I used just under a cup of molasses. Also substituted butter for the shortening because I ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflydays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
My husband likes molasses so I decided to try this and he loved it, I thought it was okay. I read the reviews and placed a cookie sheet under the pie pan. I followed the directions exactly and did not have a problem with any filling over flowing. I used a 9 inch deep dish glass pie pan. I was not sure it was done when I took it out of the oven but since I had never made this before I decided to go with the time given. The filling was good, not runny or cake like. I will not make this again for myself but I will for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I'm sure this is a great recipe for Shoo-Fly Pie lovers. But I've decided I'm not a fan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States