My Grandma's Shoo-Fly Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I'm sure the recipe was fine. I think I just don't care for shoo fly pie. On a whim I wanted to make it after hearing the song for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is the first recipe I have found that gives you the original wet bottom. It disappeared from my Thanksgiving table as fast as my mother-in-law's special stuffing did. Try it and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
10:30- gathered all of my ingredients & equipment, & preheated oven. 10:40- measured out hot water, molasses & baking soda for the bottom layer. Mixed everything together & poured into pie shell. 10:45- realized the liquid layer left absolutely no room for the flour/brown sugar/shortening mixture. Proceeded anyway, thinking perhaps the flour mixture would somehow defy the laws of physics & absorb itself into the liquid without adding volume. 10:47- mistakenly thought that everything was going smoothly, until I realized I had a river of molasses seeping out of the pie shell, across my countertop, & onto the floor. 10:48- cleaned up the counter, & decided there was enough topping on the pie as it was. 10:49- carefully lifted the pie into the oven, & set the timer. 10:50- watched my beautiful pie leak out of the shell & into my oven; thanked the dear Lord that I had forgotten to remove a baking sheet on the bottom rack, which was now nearly filled with burning molasses. 11:00- decided that I needed to turn back the temperature before one of my neighbors summoned the fire department. 11:20- determined that my pie crust did not need to be baked any further; the edges were starting to resemble charcoal. Removed pie from oven. 11:21- looked up 'Kitchen Nightmares: Cleaning Scorched and Burnt Food Off Pots and Pans' on thekitchn.com. 11:25- got out the baking soda & detergent; let the pan soak until I tasted the pie. 11:30- ate 2 pieces of my delicious pie; decided to buy new pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mbp002
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Good recipe. I do a halfcup of molasses and a half cup of corn syrup to ensure its not overpowering. Just like grandma used to make in Central Pennsylvania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I used an average store bought pie crust - WAY WAY too much liquid to put in that crust, and WAY too much crumbs to put on the top. It spilled all over the over the oven - everywhere. Maybe if you use a deeper pie dish it would work but it just spilled all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Schnecksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This is the first time I've tried to make a Shoo Fly Pie and I also had way too much crumb topping. The pie is in the oven right now with a cookie sheet under to catch the overflow which I know will happen. I'm giving it a fair trial and if the flavor is good I'll just 1/2 the amount of crumb topping next time. I'm giving a 3 for now since it smells wonderful. Will update once the pie is baked. Well, the crust broke and it kind of oozed so is not very pretty...but not bad for a first try. Will make this again but make a little less filling and topping. I think eventually I will get the hang of this and so it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made this recipe and the Shoofly Pie V from this site on the same day to compare. The Grandma's pie was more traditional, but I liked the Shoofly Pie V recipe better. However, since there are so many wonderful desserts out there that I love, I most likely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I live in PA and this is nothing like the Lancaster County shoofly. Where is the cake top? Why is there so much wet bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga Chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Only one problem. In the above recipe, I used a standard 9" pie shell. Goop everywhere! While adding the 'crumbs' the liquid overflowed and made a mess of the oven and floor. Please change the recipe to a 9" DEEP pie shell. It looks great and fills the shell perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sticky
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I added 1/2 tsp of ground clove to the boiling water then 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg and the molasses and an egg when the mixture cooled off I though it was a little too much topping ( a little dry)..but I'm just a beginner. The flavor was fantastic though. Last time I had a major leak and the wet part leaked to the pie dish. This time I cut my shorting up finer for the crust…..no leaks. Sure not pretty but taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sticky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States