My Grandma's Cool Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
GREAT!!!! This recipe is wonderful I was looking for a cucumber salad recipe that did not require vinegar as I had non on hand, came across this one a WOW so simple and tasty. I did make some adjustments only due to personal liking, I added one and a half teaspoon of dried dill weed and two tablespoons of lemon juice. I did taste the sauce before I added the dill and lemon juice and it is still wonderful. As I mentioned just due to personal liking, did I make the additions. * AS A TIP TO MAKE THE SALAD LOOK PRETTY, BEFORE SLICING THE CUKES SCRAPE THE CUCUMBERS DOWN ALL THE FRONTS LEAVING WAVY LINES... THEN SLICE!! *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I grew up on this salad. We slice super thin (do this in the morning and let soak all day)and soak the cucs in a salt water, rinse lightly, drain for an hour or so then add sour cream..Dill and red onions if desired. So good alone but we love to put it over a baked potato..yummy! Can remove seeds and that way it doesn't get so watery. FYI..the reviews that say this is tasteless I believe has to do with the soaking in salt water..it is a must in my opinion...and the water should be pretty salty. I dump salt over them then add the water, stir, place a plate over top to make sure all are completely under water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I couldn't figure out how this recipe received so many positive reviews. I thought it was tastess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Just made a little bit to try and taste....wish I made more hahaha this is really really refreshing and tasty. Made a great side to my grilled salmon steak...yum will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I loved how simple this was and didn't taste simple. I didn't use fatfree anything. If you don't use fatfree this is a pretty carb friendly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Simple and delicious! Sometimes the most basic ingredients combine to be some of the best tasting. I love cucumber salads and they make a nice light side dishes. Be sure to drain the liquid out of the cucumbers so you don't have a watery, "soggy" salad. I used reduced fat sour cream as fat free usually has an aftertaste that's a bit unpleasant. I let it chill for a couple of hours and it was very "cool" and very good. It reminds me of my Grandma Jean's cucumber salad - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
We love this! I have been preparing/eating this for many years. This is the way my great-grandma, grandma and mom prepared cucumbers and sour cream. The simplicity is perfect. I do use regular sour cream and sweet onion. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This recipe goes much better with vinegar and a dash of sugar. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artemiss04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I've made this recipe (sort of) since I was a kid! We didnt dry the cukes though, sliced em, salted em, tossed the onions in and let it marinate for a few hours in the fridge. Drain and rinse em then stir in Miracle Whip and a few tablespoons of pickle juice (or vinegar I guess). They end up creamy and tangy!! If you slice them really thin they get mushy, I like mine thicker so they've got a good bite to em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyCanCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Almont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My grandma made this, too! She would sometimes add just a couple tsp. of white vinegar or fresh dill if she thought about it. It's good as is, especially fresh from your own garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States