My Grandma's Cool Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
GREAT!!!! This recipe is wonderful I was looking for a cucumber salad recipe that did not require vinegar as I had non on hand, came across this one a WOW so simple and tasty. I did make some adjustments only due to personal liking, I added one and a half teaspoon of dried dill weed and two tablespoons of lemon juice. I did taste the sauce before I added the dill and lemon juice and it is still wonderful. As I mentioned just due to personal liking, did I make the additions. * AS A TIP TO MAKE THE SALAD LOOK PRETTY, BEFORE SLICING THE CUKES SCRAPE THE CUCUMBERS DOWN ALL THE FRONTS LEAVING WAVY LINES... THEN SLICE!! *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I grew up on this salad. We slice super thin (do this in the morning and let soak all day)and soak the cucs in a salt water, rinse lightly, drain for an hour or so then add sour cream..Dill and red onions if desired. So good alone but we love to put it over a baked potato..yummy! Can remove seeds and that way it doesn't get so watery. FYI..the reviews that say this is tasteless I believe has to do with the soaking in salt water..it is a must in my opinion...and the water should be pretty salty. I dump salt over them then add the water, stir, place a plate over top to make sure all are completely under water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I couldn't figure out how this recipe received so many positive reviews. I thought it was tastess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Just made a little bit to try and taste....wish I made more hahaha this is really really refreshing and tasty. Made a great side to my grilled salmon steak...yum will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelly
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I loved how simple this was and didn't taste simple. I didn't use fatfree anything. If you don't use fatfree this is a pretty carb friendly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Simple and delicious! Sometimes the most basic ingredients combine to be some of the best tasting. I love cucumber salads and they make a nice light side dishes. Be sure to drain the liquid out of the cucumbers so you don't have a watery, "soggy" salad. I used reduced fat sour cream as fat free usually has an aftertaste that's a bit unpleasant. I let it chill for a couple of hours and it was very "cool" and very good. It reminds me of my Grandma Jean's cucumber salad - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
We love this! I have been preparing/eating this for many years. This is the way my great-grandma, grandma and mom prepared cucumbers and sour cream. The simplicity is perfect. I do use regular sour cream and sweet onion. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This recipe goes much better with vinegar and a dash of sugar. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artemiss04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I've made this recipe (sort of) since I was a kid! We didnt dry the cukes though, sliced em, salted em, tossed the onions in and let it marinate for a few hours in the fridge. Drain and rinse em then stir in Miracle Whip and a few tablespoons of pickle juice (or vinegar I guess). They end up creamy and tangy!! If you slice them really thin they get mushy, I like mine thicker so they've got a good bite to em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyCanCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Almont, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
My grandma made this, too! She would sometimes add just a couple tsp. of white vinegar or fresh dill if she thought about it. It's good as is, especially fresh from your own garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States