My Fly Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I used quorn in this recipe as the protein, and it was great. FYI - the seasame oil is essential for flavor. Don't decrease the amount. It only adds 30 calories per serving, or 3.4 grams fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I really love the versitility of this recipe. I didn't have any mirin so instead I used a good red wine and added about 1/2 tsp of sugar to sweeten it. It worked out really well with beef. Like another reviewer I added some hot pepper flakes. My husband thought it "was tasty" which is a pretty high compliment (usually says it's "OK" for everything). Thank you Caroline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
So very NOT good... at least for us. I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly, and the final dish was almost too vinegar-y to eat (I used rice vinegar!). I don't know how to fix this recipe. We dumped the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I was disappointed in this recipe after all the other rave reviews. I found it to be way too salty - too much soy sauce? I followed everything to a "T" except used seasoned rice vinegar. Maybe that's where the extra salt came from. Although even ignoring the saltyness, I didn't see anything spectacular about the sauce. Will make again only to see if I messed something up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This review is just of the sauce; I used it with a tofu/veggie stir fry. And it was delicious! Very tangy and lots of flavor. I've been looking for a nice light sauce because I'm tired of those heavy, thick pre-made sauces and this is perfect. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I was looking over this recipe today and wanted to add that you don't need a tablespoon of sesame oil, especially if you are stir-frying in a non-stick panwok. You probably only need around a teaspoon. Making this change this will cut down on the fat significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This is tasty, quick, and low-fat. I do reserve the marinade, add cornstarch, and add it back in when everything's almost done. The sauce thickens and it's just delicious. We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
The dish had a nice presentation. I used snap peas rather than mushrooms. However, the sauce was a tad too tangy for me. Next time I will use less of the vinegar. Thanks Caroline..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I used chicken and it was very good. Lots of flavour, little fat, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This recipe was quick and tasty. My boyfriend, who has lived all over Asia, loved this dish. I added a bit more garlic and 2 Thai chilies to give it a bit of zip, but that is just personal taste. The combination of rice vinegar, mirin, and soy sauce was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States