My Fly Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
I used quorn in this recipe as the protein, and it was great. FYI - the seasame oil is essential for flavor. Don't decrease the amount. It only adds 30 calories per serving, or 3.4 grams fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I really love the versitility of this recipe. I didn't have any mirin so instead I used a good red wine and added about 1/2 tsp of sugar to sweeten it. It worked out really well with beef. Like another reviewer I added some hot pepper flakes. My husband thought it "was tasty" which is a pretty high compliment (usually says it's "OK" for everything). Thank you Caroline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
So very NOT good... at least for us. I followed the recipe for the sauce exactly, and the final dish was almost too vinegar-y to eat (I used rice vinegar!). I don't know how to fix this recipe. We dumped the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I was disappointed in this recipe after all the other rave reviews. I found it to be way too salty - too much soy sauce? I followed everything to a "T" except used seasoned rice vinegar. Maybe that's where the extra salt came from. Although even ignoring the saltyness, I didn't see anything spectacular about the sauce. Will make again only to see if I messed something up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This review is just of the sauce; I used it with a tofu/veggie stir fry. And it was delicious! Very tangy and lots of flavor. I've been looking for a nice light sauce because I'm tired of those heavy, thick pre-made sauces and this is perfect. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I was looking over this recipe today and wanted to add that you don't need a tablespoon of sesame oil, especially if you are stir-frying in a non-stick panwok. You probably only need around a teaspoon. Making this change this will cut down on the fat significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This is tasty, quick, and low-fat. I do reserve the marinade, add cornstarch, and add it back in when everything's almost done. The sauce thickens and it's just delicious. We love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2003
The dish had a nice presentation. I used snap peas rather than mushrooms. However, the sauce was a tad too tangy for me. Next time I will use less of the vinegar. Thanks Caroline..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I used chicken and it was very good. Lots of flavour, little fat, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This recipe was quick and tasty. My boyfriend, who has lived all over Asia, loved this dish. I added a bit more garlic and 2 Thai chilies to give it a bit of zip, but that is just personal taste. The combination of rice vinegar, mirin, and soy sauce was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States