My Fly Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Fantastic! I did make a few changes. Since I didn't have the mirin, I substituted a splash of a slightly dry, tart Reisling wine. I added an additional garlic clove, 1 teaspoon of sugar, and another tablespoon of ginger. I also added more vegetables - red cabbage, snow peas, and carrots, and some raw peanuts. Very fresh and not overly sweet or salty. I made plenty to have left overs but my kids had third helpings and polished off the entire entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is a great do-ahead recipe! I had the pork marinating while I chopped all the veggies. It came together very nicely! I added edamame and zucchini to the vegetables and thickened the sauce with a flour slurry. Served with a pouch of Schwan's steamed brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My husband and I love this recipe. Even my picky son lovews it. We will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skippy
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This was a different dish that I'm used to preparing for our Asian nights. I ususally use chicken or beef, but that night, I used a pork tenderloin instead. I thought this had too much vinegar. Too much of a tang for me, but it was good. My husband loved it though. He would probably give it 5 stars. Next time, I'll cut down on the vinegar and maybe increase the miran and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
After reading the reviews, I made a few adjustments. Instead of the mirin, I used 1/4 cup unsalted chicken broth. I used 3 cloves of garlic, minced and instead of green pepper added 4 cups broccoli flowerettes and 1 1/2 cups pea pods. I tripled the mushrooms, and I sliced an onion to add to the stir fry, and put chopped green onion over the dish before serving. I added 1 tsp of corn starch to the reserved juice, which slightly thickened it. Served over jasmine rice, this was delicious (not too salty - the extra vegetables and the chicken broth likely helped).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I guess I'm going against the grain here. With the exception of my daughter (who loved it), we all thought it was "ok." I may try it with chicken to see if I like it better but otherwise I don't plan on making it again. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
Good flavor, time consuming slicing all of the meal and veggies (as any stir fry dish will be.) I ran out of the rice vinegar and used regular distilled white vinegar and the dish still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This tasted good but just too much soy sauce. And the meat was way overcooked. Vegetables became soggy too drenched in sauce. Won't make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Very flavorful. The marinade was great. I did add a lot more garlic, ginger and some hot pepper flakes to the heating oil. And because the sauce was already very salty, I cut the reserved liquid with some chicken broth (and thickened it with cornstarch) before adding it back into the stir-fry. I'm looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARSHMALO
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This was delicious! I just used a tiny bit less soy sauce, even though it said it was essential, because I'm not a big fan of the stuff. Otherwise, it was incredible! One of the best recipes on the site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

My Favorite Sesame Noodles

This Asian-inspired meal includes hot miso soup and ginger-dressed carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States