My Favorite Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot and my husband's jaw dropped when I took the cover off the pan (and loved the taste too!). I am giving it only four stars because I thought it was a bit too salty (I would cut the salt to 1 tsp at the most) and I used only about 1 cup of MJ cheese, which was plenty. Lastly, I used brown rice instead of white rice and, other than the fact that I needed to cook the rice about 20 min longer, it tasted great! Definitely a keeper! Made it with the "Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce" on this website and my husband was very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I used a mixture of EVOO and butter to brown the rice in. I used organic chicken broth in this recipe and I omitted the additional salt called for in this recipe. I cooked this whole recipe in my cast iron skillet. I cannot tell you how many times I've burned rice in my normal sauce pans on my gas stove--cooking it in my cast iron skillet was cake. Not one single problem. My family enjoyed this rice--my youngest boy asked for a second helping which he NEVER does. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This tasted very authentic to what we get in our local Mexican restaurant. I made exactly as the recipe stated, but, only used 1 tsp of salt based on other reviewer's suggestions. I also left off the monterey jack cheese just to save on a few calories, but, I am sure it would be wonderful with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This was such a quick dish to whip up last minute and oh so yummy. I made a few changes due to not having exact ingredients on hand. Instead of tomato sauce and green chiles separate, I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. I used low sodium organic broth and added no additional salt. I cut the cheese to 1 cup and used a colby/jack blend. Paired it with black beans,spicy carnitas and fresh corn. My family devoured it! Will definitely be making this rice again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajourney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was good but WAAAAAY too salty. I would definitely suggest cutting it down to 1/2 t of salt to start with. You can always add more but it's hard to take it out :). Otherwise though, I really liked it. It cooked up faster than 25 minutes for me, so FYI...stir frequently so it doesn't burn and you can keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Used this with brown rice and came out really good. Took a little more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I agree what another said, waaaaaayyyy to salty. I wish I would've seen that review before I made it. The flavor is fantastic, I will definitely make it again, just without the extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVED it!! Made fajitas and this rice for dinner and my husband had thirds and came back for more the next day. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I am really puzzled by the reviews on this. When I was adding the ingredients, I thought, "Hmm, that's a lot of liquid for one cup of rice," but since nobody else had mentioned a problem with that, I ran with it. Forty minutes later - I used brown rice - I picked up the lid and discovered half-cooked rice soup! This dish needed to cook for a full hour to absorb all the liquid, and even then it was soggy. A normal rice-to-water ratio is 1:2 and this, including the tomato sauce, was almost 1:3. The fact that I'm the only person who had this problem, including other people who used brown rice, makes me think that I did something wrong, but I really did follow the recipe as written. Dinner was well over by the time the rice was done cooking (luckily I had a backup) and when it finally wasn't soup anymore, the flavors were nice. But there are so many mexican rice recipes out there, I'll look for one I don't have to modify so much. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is absolutely the best Mexican Rice recipe I have ever tried. I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. My family loved it! I will be making this recipe over and over! A definate keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States