My Favorite Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVED it!! Made fajitas and this rice for dinner and my husband had thirds and came back for more the next day. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was good but WAAAAAY too salty. I would definitely suggest cutting it down to 1/2 t of salt to start with. You can always add more but it's hard to take it out :). Otherwise though, I really liked it. It cooked up faster than 25 minutes for me, so FYI...stir frequently so it doesn't burn and you can keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I liked this recipe a lot and my husband's jaw dropped when I took the cover off the pan (and loved the taste too!). I am giving it only four stars because I thought it was a bit too salty (I would cut the salt to 1 tsp at the most) and I used only about 1 cup of MJ cheese, which was plenty. Lastly, I used brown rice instead of white rice and, other than the fact that I needed to cook the rice about 20 min longer, it tasted great! Definitely a keeper! Made it with the "Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce" on this website and my husband was very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Amazing! Cooked exactly as written and couldn't be better. The chiles really make the recipe. Don't leave them out! This recipe is definitely better than my favorite Mexican restaurant's rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This tasted very authentic to what we get in our local Mexican restaurant. I made exactly as the recipe stated, but, only used 1 tsp of salt based on other reviewer's suggestions. I also left off the monterey jack cheese just to save on a few calories, but, I am sure it would be wonderful with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very Very good! I agree with the salt (only used half), but I could see how the recipe includes that, as I'm sure every mexican joint in town uses even more salt than that! Used this rice in a black bean burrito and it was spot on. Definitly the most tasty long grain rice recipe I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Yummy!! I decided to whip this up with stuff I had around the kitchen. I didn't have any tomato sauce or green chiles, so I substituted 3/4 cups of my favorite salsa in place of those two ingredients. Turned out wonderful! I agree with one of the other reviewers about it being very salty, so I recommend cutting the salt in half, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
kids went back a few times for this..and yeah i didnt use as much salt as asked for...yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyasalways32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Used this with brown rice and came out really good. Took a little more cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I used a mixture of EVOO and butter to brown the rice in. I used organic chicken broth in this recipe and I omitted the additional salt called for in this recipe. I cooked this whole recipe in my cast iron skillet. I cannot tell you how many times I've burned rice in my normal sauce pans on my gas stove--cooking it in my cast iron skillet was cake. Not one single problem. My family enjoyed this rice--my youngest boy asked for a second helping which he NEVER does. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States