My Favorite Mexican Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great recipe! I followed the recipe but omitted the green chili and added a can of Rotel instead... Plus I added corn and black beans right before the cheese. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great Mexican rice dish to serve with your Mexican entree. However, here is how to make it in ONLY 15 MINUTES- use two cups of cooked white rice. I freeze 2 or 4 cup bags when I make white rice. Add oil to sauce pan, I use olive oil, then add cumin and chili powder, bloom spices(cook until release their fragrance)for a minute or so, add garlic onion cook until clear. Then add a 10z. can drained can of Rotel tomatoes w/cilantro and lime juice and 4 oz. of tomato sauce. Stir until mixed and warm...in no time. I don't add any salt and it tastes find. I also save calories by not adding cheese. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This rice is a staple in my house. My DS LOVES Spanish rice and this one is always 2 thumbs up with him! I use chicken bullion and skip the extra salt. But I would add those spices/onions after I fried the rice, JUST BEFORE you add the broth, simply to give those spices a minutes to Bloom and become fragrant, THEN add the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this Mexican rice today, & we loved it!!!took a chance with this recipe, we had friends over for dinner. The reviews were good,so I went for it & so glad I did !!!! We had chicken enchiladas , my favorite corn bread & the delicious Mexican rice!!!! Since I am new to all recipes, I find the reviews very helpful.i really love this site,will be browsing the recipes often!!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH AR !!!p.s. I also reduced the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
excellent added 1/2 cup of sour cream at the end to make it tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Instead of Monterey Jack Cheese Use WHITE AMERICAN. It melts and tastes better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenni G
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I didn't add salt for health reasons and I didn't have any cumin but will get some for next time as it wasn't as spicy as I'd hoped. I added some chipotle sauce in lieu and a package of pre-cooked chicken to make it more a complete meal. I thought it was a little mushy so will go with just 2 cups of broth next time and see if that helps. Also used 1 cup of Mexican blend cheese as that's what I had on hand. Overall enjoyed it and will most certainly have it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Too salty, too much cheese (and I like cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
My girlfriend and I made this for my family, it was a massive hit! like others have said the recipe calls for a little to much chicken broth. We used 3/4 chicken broth of what the recipe called for. We ever so slightly caramelized the onions which really cut the flavors nicely. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caleb Davidson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great in burritos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States