My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I agree with another reviewer who said they were not pretty but they tasted great. Once you mix the ingredients, the batter was similar to a really thick pancake batter. Like pancakes, make sure to leave room in the pan for spreading. That may help with their appearance. I threw in the left over french style green beans (chopped up) and they tasted pretty good. Could use a little cheddar or Parmesan cheese for sharpness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Our family has been making these for at least four generations. Great topped with a knob of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These are awesome! I had exactly 2 cups of leftover potatoes and had a craving for potatoes. What a great evening snack :) I cooked them up in butter and I used garlic salt that had a little parsely in it. I added a little salt after cooking...even though you really don't need it if u use garlic salt and not the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
DELICIOUS!!! I am so glad I found a easier alternative to potatoes pancakes, just one big pancake. I cut it in quarters afterwards, topped with sour cream and chopped green onions. Such a good breakfast. I won't be afraid now when I have mashed potatoes left overs when we have guests, I even need leftovers :-) I want to make things clear for those who said it was bland: If your mashed potatoes were bland, then this will come out bland too. The mashed potatoes should have the right amount of salt and be tasty, then you'll get a great pancake. I don't know how other people make mashed potatoes, maybe they just mash them and that's all. I always add salt, butter, milk, and sometimes a little sour cream and a dash of garlic powder. They are not bland. So my pancake wasn't bland either. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
If you like bland food then you'll like this. The first time I made it I didn't like it at all. The next time I added more garlic, some paprika, a little salt and pepper, onion powder and a little finely chopped jalapeno pepper. It was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosenberg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Excellent - but I found one egg to be sufficient. I also made them into individual patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made this recipe tonight, adding a little Mexican 4-cheese to mixture and topping with sour cream and a sprinkling of cheese--Yum! and easy too. Just a comment to some reviewers regarding appearance: This recipe is for only one big pancake which does not require flipping while cooking. When inverted onto the serving plate, the nicely browned side makes an appetizing appearance. Cut into wedges for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good base recipe...I double the flour, add pepper, shredded cheese and botb garlic and onion powder, then I roll balls in some flour, then flatten and fry in butter & oil...they don't spread this way and are more crispy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This is the easiest recipe. it cooked up yummy and brown and even. I should have taken a picture of my result. It looked almost exactly like the picture in the recipe. Unfortunately, we ate it all and now it's too late to share my success. Best and easiest use of leftover mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lainey Dru

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These are really good. Served with bacon and eggs for breakfast. I cooked the potato cakes in the bacon grease. Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States