My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This is a great way to use up those leftover mashed potatoes! I doubled the recipe, but omitted the garlic and chives - as we always make our mashed potatoes with chicken stock and real garlic - so they are very flavorful to start. My kids really liked them with sour cream. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good base recipe...I double the flour, add pepper, shredded cheese and botb garlic and onion powder, then I roll balls in some flour, then flatten and fry in butter & oil...they don't spread this way and are more crispy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added more flavor to the mixture by adding shredded sharp cheddar and more garlic powder. Also, cooked them in individual patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
One of the best uses for taters...BUT - don't forget to crumble some (real) bacon in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This was the biggest disaster I've ever had in the kitchen! The temp was too high as they burned in the middle. Wouldn't have done one big pancake. They stuck to the spatula when pressing down so that really wasn't possible. They turned out to be scrambled potatoes rather than pancakes! I was introducing potato pancakes to my husband tonight but he'll probably never want to try them after this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I tried these using the exact recipe and I don't know what happened??? I couldn't keep them together in the pan to fry...or mash down or flip or anything. They were just too thin I guess. Needed to be thicker consistancy and hold together. I tried adding more flour but that didn't really help. Maybe the mixture got too warm? I just don't know, but I'm going to try again because the taste was still good. I saw another recipe suggesting to use 2 eggs, but to separate them and only add the yolks to the potatoes at first...then whip the whites till fluffy and fold into the potato mixture just before ready to cook and makes them light and fluffy on inside and crispy on outside. Also suggested keeping mixture very cold. Maybe I will have more success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Just made these for dinner with some leftover mashed potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly even though I was skeptical about adding 2 eggs to only 2 cups of mashed potatoes which gave them too much of an eggy taste for me. My mom always made these with only one egg and adding just enough flour to bind. I did like the addition of the garlic powder in this recipe but next time I'll stick with my momma's version. I topped these with sour cream to hide some of the egg flavor and I enjoyed the combo of the hot potatoes with cold tangy sour cream. Almost like a twice baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
this was good, the reason some may not of liked it had to be because there mashed potatoes were bland, this is the base to the recipe so if your potatoes were not good that is your fault not the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Haven't tried yet, but will. Looking for something to do with a lot of leftover mashed potatoes. Can these be frozen for future use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I added green onions, chopped thin sliced deli ham and shredded sharp cheddar. As it cooked, I divided it into quarters and flipped each over to brown on both sides. It was a little tricky but I got it done. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States