My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Our family has been making these for at least four generations. Great topped with a knob of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These are awesome! I had exactly 2 cups of leftover potatoes and had a craving for potatoes. What a great evening snack :) I cooked them up in butter and I used garlic salt that had a little parsely in it. I added a little salt after cooking...even though you really don't need it if u use garlic salt and not the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Tasted great...but were not pretty. Didnt crisp up as nice as i thought they would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Just made these for lunch w/left over mashed potatoes! The recipe was awesome but it was my first time making them and they didn't look great but tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidibelle1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I agree with another reviewer who said they were not pretty but they tasted great. Once you mix the ingredients, the batter was similar to a really thick pancake batter. Like pancakes, make sure to leave room in the pan for spreading. That may help with their appearance. I threw in the left over french style green beans (chopped up) and they tasted pretty good. Could use a little cheddar or Parmesan cheese for sharpness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERRYBERRY1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I think they came out pretty bland, but they certainly have potential. Next time I plan to add some sauteed onions to the mix, and place a poached or "over easy" egg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I tried to make it it tonight. When I flipped the pancakes, they fell apart. What didi I do wrong? My mashed potatoes are made with sour cream and cream cheese. Could that be the reason? They tasted good, but appearance was something to be said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
My Mom made these when we were little. I tried to imitate it years ago, but my Mom says she used to use "a little of this, a little of that" and mine never turned out. These were perfect and just like Mom's. She never put chives, but I had some dried ones and added along with a little onion powder and pepper, in addition to the garlic powder the recipe called for. Thanks. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I had about 2 cups of leftover mashed in the fridge from Thanksgiving and this was EXACTLY what I was craving. I looked around because my first impulse was to make patties and bread them but I wasn't really wanting to deal with the mess. Anyone who says that they are not getting crispy pancakes, 2 steps: 1. make sure your pan is HOT, I had it preheated at about med high & 2.) put a T. or 2 of olive oil in the pan so it has something to fry/crisp in. Sour cream is the perfect topper. Great breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These are really good. Served with bacon and eggs for breakfast. I cooked the potato cakes in the bacon grease. Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States