My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I made these crab cakes yesterday and they are super tasty with a nice kick. Great recipe and very easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
These were okay but we found them missing something. They were good, just not the great crab cake recipe we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Without a doubt, theeeee best crab cakes ive ever tasted. Not just made, but tasted! WOW I was shocked that these were something I made. The recipe definitely does not make as many as it says, maybe about half. I doubled the recipe and got about as much as the recipe said it would make. I will make these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemylila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very tasty. I baked in the oven and put the bread crumbs in the bottom of the muffin dishes. Thanks to the person who made the suggestion. Also I left out the cayenne and garlic powder. Just added the old bay and it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Great recipe! The only thing that I changed is that I used snow crab legs vs. canned crabmeat. Shell them while they are still almost frozen and chop. 16oz of crab (as the recipe calls for) is about 2 1/2 snow crabs or 5 clusters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I had some left over dungeness crab (boiled in Louisiana crab boil seasonings), so I used that instead of canned crabmeat and omitted the Old Bay and the extra salt. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. My husband gobbled it up. Great stuff! Best crab cakes ever! Thanks for such an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
The very best crab cakes I have ever enjoyed. This is a must recipe...thank you. Use the Panko breadcrumbs and don't cut the expense....it makes a difference. We are hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Truckee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Ok, these were DELICIOUS. I made a few minor changes. I used sweet cream butter instead of oil to saute my green onions and I threw in some garlic as well. And instead of using canned crab meat, I used the meat from a whole small Dungeness crab and left it pretty lumpy. I also only used 6 ounces of crushed crackers instead of 8 because I don't like our cakes too dry. Finally, I fried them in 50/50 butter and oil. In all I ended up with 8 crab cakes which was more than enough for me, my husband and my 4 year old (who ate 2 by himself). I actually just ate the last two for breakfast, I couldn't help myself. :) They were scrumptious and I will be making these again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Long time crab cake lover, first time crab cake maker. These were really delicious! I used freshly picked blue crab and added a little fresh parsley and fresh lemon juice. Also, ditched the cayenne and added more Old Bay. Baked for 30 min at 350, as per other's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Best crab cakes I've had, these were great! I doubled the recipe, using a medium size cookie scoop 2 scoops made a 3in diameter 1/2in thick crab cake, ended up with 19. Used butter club crackers, 1 2/3 sleeves (18oz box) for the doubled recipe. Recommend starting with half the bread crumb coating, I threw a lot of it away. Used half bread and half panko (was low on panko) and 5 6oz cans of crab meat. Used the olive oil to fry the green onions, scooped them along w/the oil into the batter. After making them I put them in the fridge for an hour on a wax paper lined cookie sheet, they were nice and firm and held together perfectly while frying. Used vegetable oil to fry them (less expensive) and they turned out great. Served with Remoulade Sauce from this site. They reheat well in the oven if you use the Panko crumbs. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States