My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
These were delicious. I didn't saute the green onions first (instead, I ran the green onions and one sleeve of reduced fat Ritz crackers through a food processor). I also used a tbsp of dijon mustard instead of the dry mustard and doubled the cayenne pepper. Finally, I used 2 eggs and extra crab meat. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly. I ran out of time to make aioli, and the crab cakes alone were a little spicy (thanks to the extra cayenne), but they were still delicious -- and with a cool sauce to dip them in, they would have been perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Athryl
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I've never had (or made) crab cakes so I don't have anything to compare it to but these were good. I followed some of the recommendations and used Dijon mustard instead of dry and 2 6oz cans of crab meat. I think next time I will add extra Old Bay & Garlic, but I tend to like strong flavors so I didn't downrate the base recipe as it is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I don't like Crab so I made these for my fiance as a treat. He doesn't like onions so I ommited them and used onion powder and I didn't have Panko on hand so I used italian premade bread crumbs. Also I used fresh crab from the seafood section of the grocery store (although it take a little more time to make since you have to clean out the bones of the crab). He loved them and they have a little kick with the cayenne pepper! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Loved. We even over cooked the first batch...great left over as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
DELICIOUS! I used two tablespoons of mayonnaise instead, and fried them in garlic butter (6 tbsp) after coating them with panko crumbs mixed with freshly grated parmesean cheese. My Fiance' wanted to propose again! :) Try this sauce!! : 1 cup of sour cream, 2 tbsp thousand island dressing, 6 drops of tobasco and two drops of lemon juice. SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindsay_cb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Well, it was my first time making crab cakes. I did read other reviews - especially the bad ones and I am glad I did. Yes, I had to cut back on crumbs and increase the quantity of crab as explained by bad reviews. Also, the flavor was very bland and I thought it needed more spice/heat - but then, my family eats very spicy food. Overall they were fine, but not great. Also, don't replace panko bread crumbs with regular ones....panko gives the best crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is the best crab cake recipe I've ever tried. very flavourful and tender. I suggest giving the canned crabmeat a very good compression, to drain all the excess water out. It will make the egg work better in binding the patties together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These were awesome! I made half the recipe for two and it made 5 cakes. Otherwise I followed the recipe except for some confusion on the crackers. I wasn't sure how many Ritz crackers would make 8 oz. - and I needed 4 oz. The entire box weighed almost 16 oz. I couldn't see adding an entire sleeve. I crushed a few and ended up and kept adding until it looked right - not quite half the sleeve. I served with aioli. My son wants them again tonight and my husband was annoyed he missed them because he was out of town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
You just have to half the amount of crakers, add some seafood boil, i used regular mustard instead of dry...i believe that is about it. OMGOODNESS they were the best i have had. I really thought they would come out too bready or not seafoody/crab taste. I also used half real dark chunky crab meat and half imation flaky crab meat. You couldnot even taste the difference!!! Instead of doing 10 servings i did 5. I used 17 crakers and put in my bullet blender. oh and i used a whole egg. I hope these sub's work for you...GOOD LUCK!!! I so will be making these again!!! made 7 but could have made more if I hadnt made them as big as i did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCGRonquillo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These are the best crab cakes I have ever made. I served them on hamburger buns with a little mayo , lettuce and tomatoe. Makes a great lunch or dinner with a side of cole slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States