My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Ok, these were DELICIOUS. I made a few minor changes. I used sweet cream butter instead of oil to saute my green onions and I threw in some garlic as well. And instead of using canned crab meat, I used the meat from a whole small Dungeness crab and left it pretty lumpy. I also only used 6 ounces of crushed crackers instead of 8 because I don't like our cakes too dry. Finally, I fried them in 50/50 butter and oil. In all I ended up with 8 crab cakes which was more than enough for me, my husband and my 4 year old (who ate 2 by himself). I actually just ate the last two for breakfast, I couldn't help myself. :) They were scrumptious and I will be making these again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dale, Indiana, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Long time crab cake lover, first time crab cake maker. These were really delicious! I used freshly picked blue crab and added a little fresh parsley and fresh lemon juice. Also, ditched the cayenne and added more Old Bay. Baked for 30 min at 350, as per other's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Best crab cakes I've had, these were great! I doubled the recipe, using a medium size cookie scoop 2 scoops made a 3in diameter 1/2in thick crab cake, ended up with 19. Used butter club crackers, 1 2/3 sleeves (18oz box) for the doubled recipe. Recommend starting with half the bread crumb coating, I threw a lot of it away. Used half bread and half panko (was low on panko) and 5 6oz cans of crab meat. Used the olive oil to fry the green onions, scooped them along w/the oil into the batter. After making them I put them in the fridge for an hour on a wax paper lined cookie sheet, they were nice and firm and held together perfectly while frying. Used vegetable oil to fry them (less expensive) and they turned out great. Served with Remoulade Sauce from this site. They reheat well in the oven if you use the Panko crumbs. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by atrublkqueen
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
These were really very good. I did as a few others did, and put them in the oven on 350 for about 30 minutes. 15 min per side. I added additional cayenne, which put them a tad on the hot side, but that was my bad, not the recipe. The recipe was great! I used 3 cans & got 5 really big crab cakes! Thanks for a terrific recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atrublkqueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA
Living In: Hurst, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Turned out fabulous!!! Also, super easy! I do add more mayo to my liking. I also tried this as is with canned boneless skinless salmon and made the best salmon cakes ever!! Thank You for this recipe. I have made crab cakes at least 5 times and even took them in for a potluck. Unfortunately they were left over but they still got rave reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I used fresh Lump Crab and added a little lemon juice. I can't wait to try it with the Planko but I didn't have any so I used Italian bread crumbs. I also didn't fry but put them in the broiler on a pan covered with Aluminum foil with coated in EVOO for about 5 or so minutes on each side. My baby LOVED it better than our favorite Crabcake restuarant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I just made these and the recipe made 6 large cakes. I will say that they came out a little dry and I followed the recipe exactly. I am not an experienced cook so the problem may have been me. The wife said that I should have cooked them a little lower heat. I liked the taste very much but my wife thought the cayenne was a little too heavy for her. All and all it was a good experience for a new cook. *I will try a little more mayo or an extra egg next time I think. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PSKelligan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This recipe was my first attempt at crab cakes, and it didn't disappoint! I made these for a girls night in, and everyone loved them! I followed the exact recipe-the only adjustment I would make is to reduce the amount of cayenne pepper by at least half. It was just a bit too much heat for us. I would also recommend refrigerating the crab cakes for at least a 1/2 hour before cooking to help them stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cordova, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I feel bad giving these such a bad rating. I wanted them to be good and I love crabcakes but I followed this recipe to a T and I couldn't taste the crab at all they just tasted like mushy ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
If for nothing else I would rate this recipe highly since all my crabcake recipes fall all to hell apart once put in a skillet. ALL the photos here were of cooked cakes that held together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States