My Crab Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So good! I followed the recommendations of others & used 2 (6 oz) cans of crab meat, and less oil for frying (1/4 C is plenty!) The only problem I had with these is that they are fragile and fell apart when I tried to flatten them into patties. I solved the problem by rolling the finished mixture into a ball (about the size of a golf ball if you want cakes about the size served in restaurants) placed the ball in the center of my bread crumb plate spinkled bread crumbs over the top and then smashed them into patties. Worked perfectly! The best thing about these is that they are great the next day too, just pop them in the oven @ 425 for about 5-7 minutes (turning once) Thanx Rod!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Too cakey according to my crab cake-obsessed husband. Flavor was good though, and they held together well with an additional egg. Still searching for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Amazing! I made a few changes as suggested by other reviewers. Instead of sauteing the green onions, I just cut them and added them to the rest of the bowl with the other ingredients. They will cook once you start frying the crab cake. I also added an extra egg. The first time I made this, the crab cake fell apart when frying (because I only used one egg). The extra egg helps the crab cake stay together. Besides that, did everything as the recipe stated. Try it out, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
needs a good squeeze of lemon... and i also used the garlic aioli recipe from this site as a dip... delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I had the opportunity to study in South America and was looking for a recipe similar to one at a restaurant back at home. I made this to let my host family know exactly how I like my crab cakes, with a vodka sauce and ravioli. They had me make it at least five times over for friends and relatives and boasted about how gourmet the dish is...South America loves your crab cakes!! XD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Sorry, but I did not care for this recipe! These were very bland, way too much cracker and just....plain. I thought I misread the recipe, but....alas, not. Don't understand the raves for this. All I could taste was cracker and onion. Even the cayenne was lost, and I added 1/2 again as much because we like spicy. It did have a nice crunch though. Even after soaking up all the oil in the pan! Won't even tweak this recipe; sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weatherdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I liked this recipe but my wife thought it was too spicy even with the small amount of cayenne peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Sooooooooo good!!! Wish they were more healthy for me ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
A.MAZ.ING! This recipe was PERFECT! Just what I was hoping for; my family really enjoyed them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
What a great recipe!!!! If you can find Panko. It really makes the cakes better. I served with an Asian Cole slaw....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States