My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made this chili today and took many of the reviews into consideration. I was very happy with it and it was perfect for a fall day. I made mine in the crockpot but ended up having to use 2 and splitting the mixture in half. I browned the ground beef with the onions and garlic on the stove and then added it to the mixture of tomatoes and beans that were already in the crockpot. Crockpot- 2 cans stewed tomatoes, 2 cans diced tomatoes, 2 cans chili beans 1 can kidney beans, 14 oz tomato sauce, 2 tables tomato paste 2 tsp oregano, 3 tbls chili powder, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, salt, 1 tsp cumin, 1 tbls brown sugar, I let this com I. The crockpot on low for 4 hrs. I ended up adding about 3/4 c of water because it wasn't soupy enough. It was very tasty! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe is very close to the chili I grew up with. We always added macaroni to ours, but I tried it without for this recipe. I did add a small can of tomato paste to thicken it up a bit, and also added a little more chili powder, a tsp. of cocoa powder, and a tsp of cumin. I serve this with corn chips, sour cream, and cheddar cheese. Made "Golden Sweet Cornbread" recipe to make this a hearty, fall camping supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I cook this chili and let me tell u usually my family love my wife cooking and i made cornbread with it and my family took the pot apart seven star for this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
very easy basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
It's pretty good! This was the first chili recipe I have ever made or eaten. From reviews I did tweak a bit, I halfed the recipe and used one can of stewed tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes with chilies in it, I also browned the meat with onion and garlic and then added the cooked meat and rest of ingredients into a crock pot on low for about 3 hours, turned out nicely! Next time I would add more spices, maybe cumin powder and tomato paste to make more thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
It was delicious! I added green pepper and celery and I used the tomatoes with green chillies and cooked longer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Excellent recipe, I don't like kidney beans so I added chick peas instead, I also use a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes with chilies. It had just the right amount of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
It's good, easy and fast. But I did change it a bit. I added some cumin, and brown suger. I cooked it in the crock pot for about 4 hours or so. It comes out good. I think the origial recipe is a bit to plain for my family we are spicy eaters. So Yes adding some chili peppers or so helps it out to. I do not like beans of any kind so I added sausage and grown beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I Added to this recipe 1 can chili beans and 1 can pinto beans along with 3 slices bacon, wakes the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rlcam30
Home Town: Devine, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a delicious recipe and so easy! However, I did make a few changes to suit my taste, but used the base as a starter. For my tweaks, I left out the beans because I just don't like them in chili. I also don't like onions, but I knew it needed something for the flavor so I used dehydrated minced onion instead. I added a can of diced green chiles and a little more chili powder for some extra heat. Lastly, I used TVP (textured vegetable protein) in place of the ground beef, and a little canola oil to make up for losing the fat from the meat. This came out a little "soupy" which is just the way I love my chili! Who needs a spice packet full of preservatives and ingredients you can't pronounce when you can make it from scratch so quickly and easily. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States