My Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was a great chili especially for my husband. I personally do not like big chunks of tomatoes In my chili. I added some chili beans and some chili ready tomatoes and it brought out the flavor very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I have been making this recipe for 3 or 4 years now. It's very good but I would give it a 4 star as listed. I have added a few things to make it better and a 5 star!! 1 tsp. cumin, 2 tsp. ground black pepper, 5 tbsps. minced garlic and I use 4 total cans of beans, I use 1 black, and mix up light and dark kidney beans for the rest. I also add 4-6 chopped fresh peppers (red, yellow, orange, green, etc.)I'm in the process of making it today and the house smells delicious. After I finish it I throw it in a large crock pot and keep on low until ready to eat. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I really liked it!! I added a few jalapenos and a few serranos. I also mixed some masa with beer to make it a bit thicker. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlypants321
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I added 1 1/2 more tablespoons chili powder and one can diced green chilis. I also added about a teaspoon of sugar. Great base for a chili recipe. It is better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It's a hit in my house!!! My husband just said, "this is the best chili you have EVER made!" We've been married over 20 years!! I don't usually do recipe reviews, but I could not let this one get by. I did tweak it a little though. I used the ingredients stated here, but I substituted once can of the tomatoes for a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies, then I used a packet of chili seasoning and a can of chili without beans. I just finished making it about an hour ago, and the pot is almost gone. Well, let me go get my bowl before it disappears. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was my first attempt at making chili and it was such a hit! My boyfriend said it's the best chili he ever had and I think it's the best I've had too. We both love spicy. I'm not an allrecipe.com purist so I do take the reviewers modifications into account when I try a new recipe. So here is what I did differently: 1. Used 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, drained one of them first. 2. Used 2 cans of diced tomatoes and drained both. 3. I used 1 lb of ground beef and one pound of steak (it was on sale!) 4. I added a small can of crushed chilis, some red pepper flakes and about 3tsp of hot sauce. It turned out great. This is a wonderful base recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Good basic chili. Not the kind of chili for super bowl party with bold & spicy flavors, but perfect for cold winter day while watching a movie kind of chili :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Forgot the salt, but it was still great, next time I will add a little more spice!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I like this as a base to start but I made a lot of tweaks including not as much salt and lots chili seasoning and hot sauce with crushed red peppers. Chili should be in my opinion spicy not sweet or salty would make a good spaghetti sauce tho with out the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maryscookin
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is the 2nd time I've made this chili and while it is basic, it is very good! I've always struggled to get the right mix of spices when I made chili--sometimes it was good and sometimes, just OK. I never would have thought to put oregano in chili, but I have never cared much for cumin, so this recipe works for me. While we don't like really spicy food, I do put in a few shakes of red pepper flakes in--just enough to give it a little kick. I used my own crockpot cooked pinto beans, so very economical. I definitely used more than one can's worth, though!! Thanks for the recipe, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 625) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States