My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
WOW!!!!!!!! This was SO, so good. I used turkey sausage that was flavored with sun dried tomatoes and I think it really made it even better. Chopped up the onion and garlic in my food processor, threw it all in with the tomatoes, etc., and let it simmer for an hour and a half. It was simply amazing! NO salt needed, the sausage and tomatoes give it plenty. Easy, healthy, freezes well....what more could you want?? THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Holy smokes! Talk about a taste explosion. This was an incredible party in my mouth. I was wary of trying it cause I always go for the ultra highly rated and tested recipes from this site (its just meal security) but I went out on a limb for this one and was sensationally pleased. Trust me. I know what Im talking about. You HAVE to make this soup. Update: I just wanted to say that I use the great big can of broth or even the box rather than the 14oz can the recipe calls for. Also, I use a turkey kielbasa or turkey smoked sausage in a package (by the bacon)rather than buying a pound fresh sausage in the meat section. I slice it thin and prefer it in taste. I make this soup at least every other week as my family just LOVES it and it is so quick and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I made this and served it the following day to my whole family and it was well recieved!! My Dad can not stop talking about it. I added more broth because I simmered for an hour or more. I also added some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Excellent! I wasn't sure about the ingredients, but followed the recipe to a t and the taste is great! The flavors really come out in your mouth. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
ABSOLUTLY FABULOUS, and very easy. My kids loved it, my husband loved it. I did double the recipe and added another can of beans. I let it cook all day and it was perfect. Thankyou for the great recipe, I will pass this around my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Delicous, I should have made a double batch. We cleaned the pot dry. I served it with fresh homemade buns. I started cooking it at 4:30 and we ate at 5:30, it was perfect. I will be cooking this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This soup is delicious! It is easy to put together and has wonderful flavor. Next time I make it I will put in half the meat and add another can of beans, as I am not a huge meat fan. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Awesome soup. Very hearty and makes a great meal served with bread or tortilla chips. And so easy! I received many compliments. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I used cajun andouille as my bf is from Louisiana and we both love a bit of spice to our food - and it still turned out wonderful. Mmm :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hallucinex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I tried this out for the ladies in my neighborhood bible study and it was very well received. What great flavor! I am passing on the recipe for this one and would only recommend that you let it simmer longer to really bring the flavor out (add a bit more chicken broth for longer cooking so it won't be too thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States