My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Holy smokes! Talk about a taste explosion. This was an incredible party in my mouth. I was wary of trying it cause I always go for the ultra highly rated and tested recipes from this site (its just meal security) but I went out on a limb for this one and was sensationally pleased. Trust me. I know what Im talking about. You HAVE to make this soup. Update: I just wanted to say that I use the great big can of broth or even the box rather than the 14oz can the recipe calls for. Also, I use a turkey kielbasa or turkey smoked sausage in a package (by the bacon)rather than buying a pound fresh sausage in the meat section. I slice it thin and prefer it in taste. I make this soup at least every other week as my family just LOVES it and it is so quick and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
WOW!!!!!!!! This was SO, so good. I used turkey sausage that was flavored with sun dried tomatoes and I think it really made it even better. Chopped up the onion and garlic in my food processor, threw it all in with the tomatoes, etc., and let it simmer for an hour and a half. It was simply amazing! NO salt needed, the sausage and tomatoes give it plenty. Easy, healthy, freezes well....what more could you want?? THANKS for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This soup is SOOO flavorful and took no time at all to make! I did add extra chicken broth and a little extra tomato, but WOW! Thanks for a great recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nhohmann
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Yes, this soup is quite delicious -- but the best thing about this recipe is how easy it is to throw together. Super easy, that is. And it tastes and looks like it's spent a good day simmering on the stove top. Changes: I doubled the chicken stock to maintain its soupy consistency -- otherwise it thickens up to a stew over time. This was one of the soups we presented during our annual soup extravaganza and it received many kudos. We have made it several times and will continue to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nhohmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Excellent! I wasn't sure about the ingredients, but followed the recipe to a t and the taste is great! The flavors really come out in your mouth. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I was short a can of beans, but I don't think it was missing anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I love this simple easy soup. It taste wonderful, I like to dip bread in it. Very good for cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
My son fixed this for us and it was fabulous. Easy and Great. Doesn't get any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I made this and served it the following day to my whole family and it was well recieved!! My Dad can not stop talking about it. I added more broth because I simmered for an hour or more. I also added some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Excellent soup. My whole family loved it. I recently made it again with some modifications for a vegetarian diet (Boca sausages and vegetable broth), and it was still awesome. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States