My Canadian Friend's Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This soup was great. I love hearty soups with beans. I substituted sausage that i cut small with the casings still on The two big links in the pack from Hilshire farm, still turkey sausage though, but this recipe is good so you can keep it the same or add and substitute meats or beans and it is still delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I use regular Italian sausage and low sodium tomatoes and chicken broth. This is one of our winter favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heide

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This is a great soup to make when you're short on time and ingredients. Hearty and flavorful, everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I was short a can of beans, but I don't think it was missing anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
everybody loved this!! I had to modify due to what i had in stock vs. going to the grocery store: 1.) no garlic so added 2 tablespoons grey poupon with onion to brown meat 2.) substituted pinto beans for kidney beans 3.) can of rotel diced tomato/chilis instead 4.) chopped carrots and celery 5.) bay leaves, chili powder, and oregano 6.) didn't use any olive oil (sausage was fatty enough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Wow, this soup is amazing! For those who would like to adapt this to dry beans, here is how I did it: 1) Soak 1 lb dry navy beans overnight 2) Drain navy beans and rinse 3) Place in dutch oven with enough water to cover by 1 inch and boil for 10 minutes 4) Drain and rinse beans again (this is to greatly decrease the musical effect of the beans) 5) Repeat step 3, but boil for 1 hour. 6) Follow the rest of the recipe as indicated, except you should probably not simmer homecooked beans too long, as they break up more readily than the canned (I cooked mine for an additional 25 minutes in the soup, and they were mostly whole, but enough of them broke apart that the soup became a bit thicker than the author's picture - which is how I like it). Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I love this simple easy soup. It taste wonderful, I like to dip bread in it. Very good for cold days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Florida, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My not a soup eater son ate it all without a complaint - RARE. My husband and I both said make again. Only changes to the recipe I made were I used turkey broth and no salt diced tomatoes. Making again this week. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Wow. This soup is amazing. My husband, 4 year old and I all LOVED it. I am so glad there are leftovers! (That doesn't speak to the soup, there are only 3 of us so we always have leftovers!) FYI: 1 serving is approximately 1 1/2 cups. Also, we made a bit healthier by only using 1 TBSP of olive oil, using low sodium chicken broth and no salt added tomatoes. I added in a few sprinkles of dried basil/oregano to make up for not having flavored tomatoes, but besides that I followed the recipe exactly. It was amazing (I know I've already said that but it deserves repeating!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this soup is sooo easy and tasty , you have to try it ...if you are reading this then you are interested and won't be disapointed. i have made this a number of times now and like other reviews i added some extra stock and simmer it a bit longer if i am not in a hurry otherwise i make it like the recipe states. also i have used different beans like romano , or red and white kidney and it still tastes great. i also have used regular and spicy italian sausage...doesn't have to be turkey...oh man i am hungry now, guess what i am gonna make tonight for dinner?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States