My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Family loves this recipe but be sure to add a bottle of clam juice really gives it a full seafood taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Excellent! Instead of measuring out the vegetables - I just approximated and used 2 big carrots, 4 stalks of celery, 1 medium onion and 4 medium potatoes. I ended up with more than a cup each but it just made it heartier. Also, didn't hold off putting the clams in. Delicious for this fall day in Charlotte, NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was a great base recipe but I too fried up half a pound of bacon and used SOME of the bacon grease to saute the veggies. I also added about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce, teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning, a teaspoon of thyme as well as a little beef bullion. Much more flavor after adding the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willpwr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I am a new cook , but an experienced eater . This is as good or better than any I have ever had in any kitchen . I will be sharing this with my friends to impress them for a change . Thanks for a GREAT recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This NW native loved this chowder -my Kentucky husband even loved it - made changes as suggested by other reviews - cooked 6 slices bacon until crispy - let cool - reserved 2 tablespoons of bacon grease in pan - them added veggies onion, carrots and celery to bacon grease over medium heat a few minutes - then tossed in potatoes and covered in clam juice and proceeded as written until end when adding the clams and red wine vinegar - I added 1/2 tsp old bay along with the salt and pepper then added the crumbled bacon on top loved loved loved thank you PIONEERGIRL for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgreene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
It had no flavor and it was not very not seafood tasting for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
My 13 year old son is obsessed with clam chowder and we buy a can for him at least once a week. (Disclaimer) I am NOT a great cook and when I told my son I would make him chowder instead of buying canned he begged me not to. He nixed the bacon idea as well. So, I followed the recipe and took the suggestions to add clam juice instead of water. The flour/roux think was weird and seemed clumpy and gross. I constantly stirred it until it was like a paste and then added the 1/2 and 1/2. Then I stirred for about 10 more minutes. It really thickened up. Poured in the veggies-Seemed like it would be more of a veggie stew but they mixed well with the cream. Added the clams and turned of the heat. Then added the salt and red wine vinegar. So the verdict= It's way better than canned, add more clams then the three cans and maybe the mixture of minced and whole, needs to be a little thicker, (he likes the Monterey stuff which makes a spoon stand up) So until I get The Old Fisherman's Grotto restaurant in Monterey recipe. This is what I will use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rennaba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was amazing!!! Simmered veggies in lots of clam juice(enough to cover. Leave crunch in the celery. No water was used) and some bacon grease. No bacon added to the soup. ready crushed garlic was also used. Make with fried croutons (French bread cut in cubes and fried in butter salt pepper and parsley) no vinegar was used. did not use exact measurements on anything except for the butter flour and half and half to make the sauce. The directions were very easy to follow, thank you!!! This was the best clam chowder I have ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megadelish Lingo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reseda, California, USA
Living In: Caliente, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by unoticedshifd
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Wow this is amazing. I usually follow any recipe to the T tge first time but since I pretty much am obsessed with bacon I added 3 strips crumbled and also used the bacon fat. This is great w/ some oyster crackers, baguette & a glass of Riesling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennsauken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Beats all the others Ive tried! Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States