My Best Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Very delicious. Followed it pretty close except had no red wine vinager, which is too bad because many others said that was the ingredient that really kicked this up a notch. But still turned out great. Next time I will sub the water for clam juice and add more clams. Used more milk than half and half to cut the calories just a bit. Added a little Old Bay too. Very delish. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I think the red wine vinegar is really optional. I tasted it before and after. I loved it before, not so much right after, but then once it sat for a little while, I couldn't really tell the difference, so either way it turns out fine (though, I only added 1 T and not the 2 called for). I used clam juice in place of the water (3 bottles), and I poured the juices from 4 cans of minced and chopped clams into the pot as well. Once the veggies were softened, I used a potato masher to mash it for a few seconds, to break up the potatoes a bit, because I like a thicker consistency. Also, I used half bacon grease and half butter for the roux, and 3 T. of cornstarch and 2 T of flour, rather than 3/4 cup of flour (I'm gluten sensitive, so I try to avoid wheat as much as I can). I was worried it would all be too runny once I combined everything together, but it was the perfect consistency. I did let the clam juice and veggies reduce quite a bit, but there was still plenty of liquid in the pot before adding the half and half mixture. Overall, I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Out of this world. I don't even like clam chowder but figured it was a good way to get rid of leftover steamers. I love this recipe. It is amazing. I think I'll use it as a base for seafood chowder in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
very easy to make and i agree with above comments. It was too thick and I would use bacon to saute veggies and I would use whole milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2.. next time i'll try it. I'll definitely keep this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Easthampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bmommy84
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was very yummy, super creamy! I tweaked it a little, I added chicken base to the water/clam juice. I added a couple strips of bacon. I didn't use the vinegar. Other than that, I was very please with the out come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very nice! You can't go wrong with a quart of cream:) Maybe add another can of clams too make it more clammy. Also, make sure not to add too much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good recipe. I tasted the soup before I added the vinegar and then after. I liked it better without the vinegar. I also used milk instead of half and half and the thickness was just right. I also added bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I really liked the recipe as-is and I would give it four stars. On the second go around I only dumped in half of the water from the vegetable boil. (the recipe was not real clear if it was all to be used or drained) I also used 2 tsp of my favorite Cajun seasoning dumped into the rue right before adding the half and half. I think it gave it a great kick and the chowder had just the right amount of thickness for my liking. With the small adjustments I would easily say five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Benson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Followed reviews and used bacon, extra clam juice, unsalted butter and more clams. Don't use Old Bay--too salty. Used almond milk rather than cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Have used this as a base recipe. I like to add a couple of diced red and green bell peppers to the veggies. Adds a little extra to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklil33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States